Porkphobia Among Muslims

Porkphobia : an irrational, intense and persistent fear of pork. Some phobias are generated from the observation of a parent’s or sibling’s reaction. The observer then can take in the information and generate a fear of whatever they experienced.

This writing is actually a comment for a blog post that I read this morning, you can read it here. Since I had figured that the explanation will be too big, I decided to write a post about it. Also because I had many discussion about piggies/porkies with many friends and I have some very serious points to make.

First of all, I don’t have porkphobia. I like porkies. I think they are cute (the pink idea of porkies), their curl tail, chubby figure, and small eyes. The picture on this post is my home slippers. When I saw porkies on TV, I don’t feel disgusted at all. But seeing porkies as a cute animal, and as a haram animal, is a different story. Porkies, as we all know is a taboo food item in Islam and Judaism, and its consumption is forbidden in these two religions. But as a muslim, I also know it is haram for black magic, walking around half naked in public, having romance outside marriage, homosexuality, gossiping, and many many more. Why don’t we also have bikini-phobia? Gossip-phobia? Interesting, right?

Since the beginning of my time, when I was still a kid, my parents had taught me that we are not allowed to eat porkies, to never eat where they served porkies, never touch porkies (not that I have seen them around, I never saw porkies in real). But, they still bought me porkies printed outfit, and they allow me to make pictures of porkies. Maybe that is why I don’t have that porkphobia. But by them telling me how it is forbidden to consume porkies, makes me careful enough to eat anything in school (I went to catholic schools, and my friends sometimes brought food from home), and alhumdulillah, my porkies-eater friends always eat far from me when they eat porkies.

Most of muslim parents indoctrinized their kids to the idea how bad porkies is. Not to even consider porkies, specially eat it. This is a very effective way. Because pig is forbidden badly. Haram.

And why is it haram? Why porkies are badly haram? I heard it is very delicious. We are muslims, to be muslims we have to follow Qur’an and Sunna. And as a logical muslima, I can give reasons on why porkies it is forbidden to consume:

1. Because WE ARE MUSLIMS! Allah subhana wa taala says repeatedly in Qur’an. So as a good muslim, when you truly know that something is forbidden, leave it! When something is obligatory, do it! —everything sounds tougher by exclamation mark 😀

“He hath only forbidden you dead meat, and blood, and the flesh of swine, and that on which any other name hath been invoked besides that of God. But if one is forced by necessity, without wilful disobedience, nor transgressing due limits,- then is he guiltless. For God is Oft-Forgiving Most Merciful.” (Al Baqara : 173)

“Forbidden to you (for food) are: dead meat, blood, the flesh of swine, and that on which hath been invoked the name of other than God; that which hath been killed by strangling, or by a violent blow, or by a headlong fall, or by being gored to death; that which hath been (partly) eaten by a wild animal…” (Al Ma’idah :3)

I hear and I obey, sami’na wa atho’na. No more excuses. Pigs, haram, stay away. Sex before marriage, haram, stay away. Homosexuality, haram, stay away. Riba’, haram, stay away. Pray 5 times, obligatory, do it. Hijab, obligatory, do it. Simple, isn’t?!?!

2. Scientifically it is not good for human to eat porkies. Many research from scientist (non-muslim scientist) had proven that porkies flesh contains parasites, bacteria, and dangerous viruses (Annual Conference of Digestive Desease 1986, Sao Paolo). In porkies body, viruses mutate to be even more dangerous.
For example; Avian Flu (Strain H1N1 dan H2N1), this virus can’t be transfered directly to human body, this virus will be vanished when it is heated by 60°C minimum. But inside porkies body the virus will be transformed into Strain H5N1 and it CAN be transfered directly to human body. In 1968, this virus spred in Hongkong, killed 700.000 people (this is not numbers only, this is people!), we now call the desease Hongkong flu.
Why the virus from porkies body can be transfered direcly to us human? The reason is, because porkies have similar DNA strain with human. Thus, the virus inside porkies can be easily transfered to human. And so, even when we grow porkies in a sterile condition to make it impossible to be attact be any viruses, eating porkies is scientifically proven as another form of cannibalism. And back to point one, cannibalism, haram, stay away. —Now that’s why I so love porkies accessories, they’re like my fellow human friends!! 😀

I still will stay away from real porkies, inshaAllah. May Allah makes it easy for us to follow our religion, and for my non-muslim friends who eat porkies, may you never be sick, because I love all my friends. Amin.

Even my cat doesn’t have porkphobia …

So, I hope this post at least can explain this issue (specially to my non-muslim friends), because not eating porkies will not make me miserable. I’m still a very cool and fun person to be friends to. YAY!

Nonetheless, not eating pork but still do many forbidden things and leave many obligatory matters is a little ironic. Don’t you think?? 😉

We need to improve ourselves to be better in Islam. Not eating porkies is good, keep it up!! But there are more on being a muslim. Wallahu alam bishawab..

  1. #1 by scientistmuslima on May 8, 2011 - 10:52 pm

    Hi sister! Salam! I wish to say that this post is amazing, nicely written and include approximately all vital infos.

  2. #2 by fathya on February 7, 2011 - 9:28 am

    Good one!

  3. #3 by miki on December 14, 2010 - 2:49 pm

    nice one..
    memang susah jd muslim, tp walau sebejatnya seorg muslim, dlm lubuk hatinya pasti akan selalu tahu bahwa Islam itu agama yg benar.
    nah,berubahnya itu yg sulit…
    and by the way?!?!?!?!? BIKINI-PHOBIA?!?!
    ahahahah

    • #4 by rialive on December 16, 2010 - 11:08 pm

      🙂
      i’m sure you can 🙂

  4. #5 by rialive on December 14, 2010 - 2:45 pm

    ahahahaha!
    dasar geloooo…
    di facebook juga dong… 😀

  5. #6 by prabu on December 14, 2010 - 2:38 pm

    iya, nanti gw share di blog 🙂
    ok deh, kalau mau liat babi beneran ada di Fb gw, kalo kurang jelas liaf foto PP gw aja haahha…

    • #7 by rialive on December 16, 2010 - 11:07 pm

      prabu jangan juga makan monyet lagi, untuk alasan…. nanti mereka bs punah..
      trus juga jangan makan kelinci, karena mereka imut banget 😀

  6. #8 by prabu on December 14, 2010 - 2:12 pm

    hihihi… Kak ria lucu kali bahasa lo menjelaskan babi itu, apalagi ada gambar boneka jani’ (babi dalam bahasa Kantu’) dan juga ada kata2 “even my cat loves pork”. Gw ketawa cekikikan sampe diliatin ibu2 desa, dan yg lebih lucunya lagi mereka lagi ngobrolin hidangan natal sajian babi panggang waktu gw baca tulisan ini :)).
    I eat pork sometimes here, yeah baiklah gw tau itu artinya gw bukan muslim yang baik 🙂 tapi makan babi pilihan gw dan biarlah jadi urusan ‘pribadi’ gw dengan tuhan 🙂
    Tentang daging babi yang katanya ‘enak’ engga juga, daging apapun kalo masaknya ga bener pasti rasanya ancur hahaha…

    Ada juga lho disini orang dayak yang ga makan babi karena mereka percaya babi banyak penyakit.Yah baiklah gw tidak akan makan babi lagi demi alasan kesehatan, tadi malam aja waktu minum sama bapak gw udah menolak makan tabas. Tabas itu cemilan daging goreng yang dimakan ketika minum arak. Tidak mau tubuh gw tambah bergelambir karena lemak2 itu.

    • #9 by rialive on December 14, 2010 - 2:23 pm

      ahahahah!
      iya di gos suka sama bineka kepala babi tu..
      di main2innya.
      yah apapun caranya, yg penting kita makin lama jd makin baik dalam hal apa pun, ya kan prabu…
      😉
      anyway, jangan lupa sharing ya prabu.. biar tambah laris manis blog gw 😀

Leave a Reply

