Desire.. Desire..

Alhamdulillah, I spent the last days without blogging with many things to do. Everynight, I went to bed because I was ultimately tired. I think today will be tiring as well, but I got something on my mind so I need to write 😉

So, few days ago, mashaAllah, I was looking at a catalogue of an MLM. It shows many beauty products, and accessories. And me, I love bags. Everytime I saw pictures of bags, I tend to crave them. I want to have them. I feel like I need to own them. And I, myself, have more than 25 bags at home, I actually have more, but I gave away many to my cousins and aunties. I stopped counting at 25, because then I have to confess that I am an addict. And I am trying sooo hard to control my desire for bags 😥

But I write this post because I want to share something that reminds me to have control for my desire, my bag and shoes and clothes and hijab addiction. Not in a destructive kind of way, but already disturbing. Maybe some of you will say : “30 bags” is not many, “65 hijabs” are nothing compare to mine, etc. We have our own standards. Don’t argue with me on the comments, just write a post on your own blog on your own standards LOL. When I go somewhere, I oftenly got confusion to pick which bag I should use that day. For me, that is disturbing, we should not be confused to choose something to wear :shock:. I feel stupid, nauzubillahi.. I closed the catalogue, didn’t buy anything, and I am still happy, alhumdulillah. It was only desire 😯

I wrote a movie review once, The Joneses, about consumerism lifestyle. How we, as a consumer is brainwashed, to buy more and more. Buying things even when we don’t need them. We buy things even when we are everytime being confused on wearing anything because we have too many. To submit ourselves into our desire of buying. Consumerism lifestyle. The religion of consumerism.

Oh, I love this shot, mashaAllah

For me, as a muslim who learn Qur’an and hadith little by little, probably can’t explain it as good as certified Islamic scholars, but I’ll try, and if you are unsatisfied, it’s not what Qur’an taught is unsatifying, but it is my poor explanation (so please look for other explanations). And before we started, let’s take a look at these hadith…

Abu Hurairah (May allah be pleased with him) reported: The Prophet (PBUH) said, “May he be miserable, the worshipper of the dinar and dirham, and the  worshipper of the striped silk cloak. If he is given anything, he is  satisfied; but if not, he is unsatisfied”. [Al-Bukhari]

Narrated Abu Huraira: The Prophet said, “Perish the slave of Dinar, Dirham, Qatifa (thick soft cloth), and Khamisa (a garment), for if he is given, he is pleased; otherwise he is dissatisfied.” [Al-Bukhari]

In a lecture (a long time ago, I forgot when :oops:), it is explained that the hadith refer to the worshipper of money and fashion, i.e the world (dunya). How can we be the worshippers of money and fashion? According to the hadith, we are the woshippers of those by fulfilling the two conditions; first, if we have them we are pleased; second, if we don’t have them we are dissatisfied. It is so easy to distract ourselves on worshipping Allah subhanahu wa taala.

Narrated Ibn Az-Zubair: The Prophet said, “If the son of Adam were given a valley full of gold, he would love to have a second one; and if he were given the second one, he would love to have a third, for nothing fills the belly of Adam’s son except dust…” [Al-Bukhari]

From the hadith, we learned that when we follow our desire we will only want more and more. It will never stop until we die. Only death can put an end to our desires — and many times, blindly followed desire caused a horrible death 😥 — There is a serial killer in my country, he is still in jail waiting for the death row, he killed and mutilated people only for their belongings, such as belts, wrist watch, cell phones, etc. Horrible, isn’t?

Enough said… It’s all about contentment. Allah has promised that we will never feel content by the world. It’s like drinking from the ocean. We’ll keep on drinking but we’ll always be thristy. Ironic. 😥

But a motivator once said : we will feel contentment not because of having everything, but because of being grateful for everything we are having. [Mario Teguh]

Gratefulness is the key. If we have what we want, alhamdulillah. If we don’t, Allah subhana wa taala knows what disaster could have happened if we have them. Or probably it’s just not the right time, or probably we do’t try our best. Always think of every possibilities, but never be sad 🙂

Ya Allah, help me remember You, to be grateful to You, and to worship You in an excellent manner … Amin…

I need to stop buying bags and shoes (well I need another pair of flat shoes — wallahy, I need them –) for a while. *sigh* Catalogues and facebook commercials will not defeat me! (I hope :oops:) Pray for me, sisters But to help me not to be tempted, I will not look at catalogues and remove some spesific facebook online ads 😀 FIGHTIIIIING!!!! 😀

“If the son of Adam were given a valley full of gold, he would love to have a second one; and if he were given the second one, he would love to have a third,
  1. #1 by rialive on January 26, 2011 - 12:21 pm

    Thank you Fathya.
    Yes, to control the desire is the hardest among all 🙂

  2. #2 by fathya on January 26, 2011 - 10:56 am

    and very nice picture, love it!

  3. #3 by fathya on January 26, 2011 - 10:56 am

    Salams,
    We have to confess that we have desire to own ‘the world’
    many people have over-loaded closet, or even being overweight.
    we are all addicted to something, but we need to control and lead the desire all the time.

    nice post (again).
    xo

  4. #4 by noni on January 24, 2011 - 11:10 pm

    1st of all, yes that’s a good shot Ree!
    Money and fashion worshippers… 😥
    new knowledge but it hits me on my stomach.
    i cant fully follow everything, i dont have enough courage to put a scarf on my head.
    am trying, serius
    thank you Ree. Love you babe
    :-*

    • #5 by rialive on January 25, 2011 - 12:01 am

      just do as your best now, Oni 🙂
      and take leaps one at a time.
      Love you more, xoxo

Leave a Reply

