Strange Family

It’s been a while not to post anything 🙂 I still write, but never post them. The topic were sensitive, better to keep it unposted.

But there is one experience that I can’t just leave it on my draft.

Let me retrace back on September 15th, 1999. That morning, I went to my parents to ask permission to go study. And I was wearing hijab for the first time. And my parents were surprised, and asked me wether I was serious or not. Since then, my parents keep reminding me and support me through all the way. Wearing hijab is hard, it is not just a piece of cloth to put on my head. It was only a symbol that I am trying to be a serious muslima, from that day on. And my parents are with me all the way, alhamdulillah 🙂

So then, I was trying to convince 2 girls to wear hijab. Well, not the hijab actually, but all the basic rules of Islam like the 5 times prayer, sadaqah, etc. And usually when a woman decide to follow Islam seriously, they will think about hijab, right?

Alhamdulillah, after some weeks, both girls finally wear hijab. One of them already pray 5 times regularly, we will try to increase for sunnah prayer inshaAllah. The problem comes from the other girl. Not actually the girl, but her family. This is very very strange… 😯

So, after 2 weeks wearing hijab, this girl finally called by her parents and they logic her to un-hijab herself. The reason is, with hijab she then has to be modest whenever non-mahrams are in the house, no more coming home late, mini skirts and… they were afraid if she wears hijab, she probably will take it off again after some years, so better for her to hijabify her heart first. And then, when I met her on Thursday last week, she no longer wore hijab. Back to low top shirt and super skinny jeans.

This family is soooo strange.

But the other new hijabi is getting better, may Allah guide her and make her stronger, even when I am not around. Amin. 🙂

  1. #1 by Halima Derrar on January 26, 2011 - 11:44 am

    As Muslims we are asked by Allah SWT to encourage what is good and discourage what is bad- so , mashallah,you are doing that in encouraging others to wear the hijab and follow the deen. What the sisters choose to do after that is their responsibility, and they will be either rewarded or held accountable for their actions. In the end it is up to Allah SWT and His divine will, or Qadr. What He has willed noone can miss, and if He doesn’t will it noone can achieve it.
    As Muhajabat we can set an example for other Muslimas, inshallah, in how we dress and act. I think you are doing that as best you can Sister, Jezakallahu kheiran! I love your blog, by the way- it’s so honest, friendly and down to earth- keep up the good work!

    • #2 by rialive on January 26, 2011 - 8:45 pm

      Thank you, sister Halima Derrar 🙂
      It is so true indeed, whomsoever Allah guides none can misguide, whomsoever Allah leaves to go ashtray there will be none to guide.
      I do believe that I need to give back.
      I remember how I begin from hating hijab and the word ‘pious’, but alhamdulillah, and please Allah reward them all good, the sisters and brothers who pray for me, and guided me patiently.

      And critics are also welcome, sister 🙂

  2. #3 by mona on January 24, 2011 - 12:48 pm

    Darling, I think she has not reach the point where she decide to wear hijab or do anything out of love for Allah, yet.
    may Allah guide her.
    But her family is very very strange, they should support her, not talked her out of it.
    Ironic 😉

    • #4 by rialive on January 24, 2011 - 6:10 pm

      Exactly Kak Mona..
      But I hope I can help them to change their views, inshaAllah..
      new dawah field, alhumdulillah 🙂
      Pray for me and them, kak
      xoxo

Leave a Reply

