Tempe Teriyaki

Tempe is an Indonesian food. It is made from soy bean. So much like tofu, but the soy bean is not mashed. Since it is soy-bean-cake, you can predict how nutritional it is. Of course it is tasteless :mrgreen:, and I dont really like it. But sometimes, with the right recipe, I can love it 😉

So, this morning my mom wanted to eat something Japanese. So then I told her that I will make her a-japanese-but-not-so-japanese breakfast 😀 Very simple recipe, with a huge help from teriyaki sauce. We have tempe, and sweet peas, very vegetarianish 😉 So then I’m in action!

Just fry the onion, garlic, celery, and chili. Add some water (2 glass), little salt, tomato sauce, cornstarch, soybean sauce, and most importantly 3 table spoons of teriyaki sauce. After the water going blup-blup-blup (boiled), throw the sweet peas and tempe in. Let the peas soften for a while and the japanese-but-not-so-japanese breakfast is ready! Alhamdulillah! 😀

I don’t know about you, but I think it looks yummy 😀

It is very nutritional, it is also believed that soy bean can make the skin age slower, and it is highly recommended by my vegetarian friends. Well, as long as it doesn’t torture my tongue, then I can handle it 😀

  1. #1 by miki on January 27, 2011 - 10:11 pm

    tofu will work with the recipe too i guess.
    fried it first so they will not crushed lol
    *says the expert*
    nice recipe, my new girl is vegetarian, gosh!
    i’ll let her know ❤

    • #2 by rialive on January 27, 2011 - 10:15 pm

      new girl? is she a muslim? the last one was an atheist and she hates me LOL
      ah come on miki, just marry a girl already, stop wasting time, money and build up sins.
      Yes tofu will work too, i guess
      do let her know, good night 😀

Leave a Reply

