Ironic

Do you smoke? Do you like when people smoke around you? I don’t smoke. I hate it when people smoke around me. SubhanAllah, I so hate it. If this hate is taken and being transformed into food, there will be no more hunger in the whole planet. That is how much I hate it. 😈

In Indonesia, cigarettes advertisement can only be aired on TV in the night, but everywhere in the street, banners of cigarettes are everywhere 24/7. I have the pictures, but I have to mosaic the brand, so it’s useless 😳 Kids are doing cigarettes everywhere. Smoking room and non-smoking room separation is nerve-wrecking because mostly smoking rooms are in the best spots of any restaurants, better views 😯

But I think my country is step by step trying to forbid smoking. The Association of Indonesian Islamic Scholars has given haram category on smoking for children, teenagers, pregnant women, and public places. That’s a progress. But seriously I want the punishment to be clear for people who break that regulation, because now, not all of the people suit the criteria follow it.

The most ironic thing you will ever see in my country is, in every cigarette pack, there will be this warning :

It says : Smoking can cause cancer, heart attack, impotence, pregnancy and fetus disorders. Scary, right? Still many people choose not to read the warning and keep smoking like Hogwarts train. Ironic.

And I do believe smoking is haram. Lots of international scholars decide it. So yes, as muslims, we should not smoke. Why am I writing this? I am so angry. That’s why. 😈 I will make list of facts on why smoking is haram, biiznillahi taala. 😀

  1. #1 by Little Auntie on February 15, 2011 - 6:54 pm

    I’m so with you, Ria. I love how you said it would end world hunger- that’s how much I hate it, too. I think it’s so inconsiderate when people smoke around non-smoking people….the worst thing though is parents smoking in their children’s faces.

    I think it is really good though that your country has put certain conditions on advertising and make the cigarette companies put those warnings on their boxes.

    Btw, Ria, you look so cute, ma’shaallah in your pic 🙂

    • #2 by rialive on February 15, 2011 - 8:11 pm

      I’m so happy that you are agree with me Little Auntie, and also for families with low income. If the father stops smoking, it will give more money to the wife, and then they can invest more on the children’s nutrition..
      SubhanAllah, may Allah make my country and it’s people better by time…

      Thank you, the picture is father approved 😀
      He reads my blog and my friend in facebook, alhamdulillah..

  2. #3 by mustika sari sayuti on February 14, 2011 - 10:11 am

    even indonesian pious men do smoke! aaah i hate!

    • #4 by rialive on February 14, 2011 - 10:15 am

      Ahhhhh!! the saddest fact of Indonesian muslims ='(
      I even see hijabis smoke on restaurants..
      *sigh*

  3. #5 by Bluepearl on February 13, 2011 - 1:35 pm

    so glad I dont smoke BUT i tend to end being a tertiary smoker because of others smoking around me which is not good!

    • #6 by rialive on February 13, 2011 - 2:29 pm

      ah i strongly dislike it too..
      wallahy..
      may Allah guide them to better sense of humanity
      *sigh*

  4. #7 by Ansarkasim on February 13, 2011 - 12:54 pm

    But in India..this is earning for many ppls..poor people n widows hu hav kids r earning my working for this thing..u knw when i saw them i thought ah gud atlst they r getting earnings..but in fact… they r putting their life to death also..in our place poor peoples especially ladies r working in home same type of smoking thing we call it as “beedi’ a local cigarate in india a very famous too,,,whihc contains nicoteen more whihc gav them relax when they smoke..
    but the poor ladies hu working on it also suffering now many in cancers bcoz of nicoteen in that leaces whihc was used for make smoking things..
    i face biggest shock bcoz this smoking things ,,my dad faced heart atatck too,, but now they left it.,ALHAMDULILLAH,,WE R 3 BROTHERS IN HOME N ITS REALLY GRT FOR US NO ONE IN DAT HABBIT of smoking Alhamdulillah,,

    and i think many times abt it.. Why givernment of India not banning this smoking and alcohals..whihc are taking ppls health…so badly..
    but Government is so selfish ,,its not looking and caring of health of proples. they r earning huge money from it..
    this is primary source of income in India..Haram source…

    • #8 by rialive on February 13, 2011 - 1:07 pm

      Also in Indonesia, Ansar..
      That is too bad.
      I am sure to drag cigarettes from makrooh to haram is long way to go in my country, but we are campaigning to make it better.
      because the government needs to put investment for new jobs for people.

      I pray for my country to get better by time, biiznillahi taala..
      =)

  5. #9 by miki on February 13, 2011 - 8:13 am

    Hmmm..
    We smokers cant stop smoking just like that, Ree
    We’re addicted to it
    Dont be too hard on us, will ya
    😀 😀 😀

    • #10 by rialive on February 13, 2011 - 8:17 am

      See, it is an addiction, that’s why it is haram.
      Don’t be to easy with yourself, Miki 😀

  6. #11 by Halima on February 13, 2011 - 4:45 am

    Salamz!

    Yes, I agree with you 100%! Smoking is a disgusting, anti-social, self-destructive, expensive habit- and yes, it’s haram as well!
    I used to live with a heavy smoker, not out of choice but out of necessity, and over time all my clothes and belongings, my hair- everything- stank like an ashtray. I kept feeling sick and started to cough all the time. Subhanallah. And that’s only the effects of second-hand smoke. Imagine what it does to the one who smokes!
    Unfortunately, ALOT of money is wrapped up in the cigarette industry, and they are very powerful people. That’s why so little is done about it.
    And don’t believe it when some “muslims” say that smoking shisha/hookah/nargileh is ok- it’s just as bad and it’s still smoking. May Allah SWT forgive them and open their eyes to the truth. Halima

    • #12 by rialive on February 13, 2011 - 8:17 am

      Wa alaikum salam

      I’m so happy that you’re agree with me, there should be a strict warning by scholars about this.
      Smoking is not okay. Never was, never is, never will.
      It’s just stupid!

Leave a Reply

