When I Was A Kid

Last night, I remembered a line we used to sing after or before Qur’an reading when I was a kid. And I realized it is deep, it took me almost twenty years to realize that. 😥

Radhitubillaahi rabba, wabil islaamidina, wabi muhammadin nabiyya warasula

I sincerely willing to have Allah as my Lord, Islam as my deen (way of life/religion), and Muhammad as the Messenger.

I remember this sentence and I was stunned. It is deep. As a kid I didn’t know it. It took me too long to understand. 😥

  1. #1 by Halima on March 13, 2011 - 3:01 am

    Salaam aleikum-

    Like sister Nadia, I’m a revert as well- and I wonder what it is like to have had the benefit of an Islamic education/upbringing. It’s funny, I still can recite from memory a poem I had to learn in the 4th grade (age 8) – if only I had been memorizing and learning Qur’an at that time, just imagine what I could know by now! *sigh*
    But this hadith cheers me up: narrated by Aisha(RA) that the Prophet(SWS) said “The one who recites the Qur’an and learns it by heart will be with the righteous scribes(in Jenna) and the one who exerts himself to learn the Qur’an by heart and recites it with great difficulty will have double reward” (al Bukhari 4937).

    • #2 by rialive on March 13, 2011 - 9:54 am

      wa alaikum salam..

      yes, we should be happy. because it is difficult for us to read and understand Qur’an because arabic is not our language.
      SubhanAllah ..
      ALlah is Most Generous and Rich =)

  2. #3 by rasna on March 12, 2011 - 1:57 pm

    Salam sis..
    i am very week in islam even though am a muslim,, am getting knowledge now only, before i think and dont know about this line.. am getting more n more knowledge now a days through quran and our classes and facebook frnds…
    ya thets true that we are getting kown what are those lines really is.. when was kid or small we just rhyming it as for muslim act.. now we ar e going deep in it..May Allah bless us widm ore knowledge and guide us wid best of him..

    • #4 by rialive on March 12, 2011 - 7:19 pm

      Amin, bro!

      wa alaikum salam.

  3. #5 by Nadia on March 11, 2011 - 8:31 pm

    Salam aleikum sister,
    it is always interesting to read memoirs of Muslimahs as I am one of those who have entered to Islam just a while ago and doesn’t have same kind of religious background. Alhamdulillah, you have grown with the faith in your heart and may Allah give strenth to you.

    • #6 by rialive on March 11, 2011 - 8:40 pm

      wa alaikum salam,

      honestly, i think there is a point where a person decide to be a muslim (converted). Even when we are born in a muslim family, we still have to decide if we are going to follow Islam or not.
      Wallahy there is no difference between you and me, sister Nadia.
      may Allah increases your Iman and grant you everything that’s khair in this world and after.

Leave a Reply

