Tolerance?

I’ll start this post with one of the very touching story from the battle of Uhud about a woman who loved Rasulullah salallahu alaihi wasalam so deeply.

Her name was Nusaybah bint Ka’b al-Maziniyyah (May Allah be pleased with her). She was known as Um’Umarah.

At the beginning of the battle, she was bringing water and tending the wounded, as the other women were doing. When the battle was going in the favor of the Muslims, the archers disobeyed the command of Rasulullah [sallallahu alayhi wa sallam] which immediately became a source of defeat, as Allah subhana wa ta’ala said;

“Behold! You were climbing up the high ground, without even casting a side glance at anyone, and the Messenger in your rear was calling you back …” (3: 153)

It was at this moment when Nusaybah went forward, with her sword unsheathed and her bow in her hand, to join the small group of archers as they were standing firm with Rasulullah [sallallahu alayhi wa sallam], acting as a human shield to protect him from the arrows of the idolaters. Every time danger approached Rasulullah [sallallahu alayhi wa sallam] she was there to protect him.

Rasulullah [sallallahu alayhi wa sallam] later said, “Wherever I turned, to the left or the right, I saw her fighting for me.”

Subhanallah..

The first time I read the story I didn’t believe it, I thought nobody would have done that. But the more I learn about Rasulullah, I realize that it is very possible. The Prophet salallahu alaihi wasalam was everything good in a human being can be. And the people at that time knew exactly how much they are loved by their Nabiy. So they would sacrifice everything even their lives to protect Rasulullah salallahu alaihi wasalam, their Beloved Nabiy. At that time, muslims will do everything to proof their love to him (salallahu alihi wasalam).

Let me put out some logic. Anyone living on this planet will know that Rasulullah salallahu alaihi wasalam is the most beloved human being by any muslims. So when they intentionally show you that they are hating Prophet Muhammad, they want to banish all of his teachings in the surface of the earth, trust me, they know it must hurt your feelings. And IF you tolerate that, in the name of tolerance and democratic, they will do more next time.

Don’t get me wrong, I have non-muslim friends, a lot. If they are truly my friends, they will consider that screaming to grab their crayon to draw Prophet Muhammad will be like a dagger to my soul. They will know that screaming they need to banish all the satanic teachings of Muhammad will make my blood boils to my head. So I don’t need to tolerate that. It is not making me a non-tolerance person to cut my friendship with them.

We don’t have a chance to throw our bodies in front of a sword to proof our love to our Prophet Muhammad salallahu alaihi wasalam, and even if we have a chance, do we have enough courage? But we can defend his name, we can defend his sunnah. We don’t have to tolerate them when they abuse our Nabiy. One of the signs of being a muslim is putting Muhammad salallahu alaihi wasalam in his proper position and never tolerate insults against him.

Some people got angry at me for deleting my friend since I was 11 because he joined this horrible group on facebook. I don’t mind. I am now not respect freedom of speech, personal views on religion, and I am now not a democratic person. If  that is what they think about me, I don’t mind.

Prophet Muhammad (Peace Be Upon Him) said: “Your best friend is the one who seeing him reminds you of Allah, speaking to him increases you in knowledge, and his actions remind you of the Hereafter ” [Al Muhasibi]

We may have tolerance but we don’t have to tolerate everything. Look at us nowadays, we don’t defend hijab, we don’t defend sharia law, we don’t defend the beard, we don’t defend polygyny, and now we don’t defend his name? Think about it, is this how we treat a person who worried about us in his last breath? What would Ali or Umar or Abu Bakr say if they see us like this? 😥 Think about it..

At the beginning of the battle, she was bringing water and tending the wounded, as the other women were doing. When the battle was going in the favor of the Muslims, the archers disobeyed the command of Rasulullah [sallallahu alayhi wa sallam] which immediately became a source of defeat, as Allah subhana wa ta’ala said;

“Behold! You were climbing up the high ground, without even casting a side glance at anyone, and the Messenger in your rear was calling you back …” (3: 153)

It was at this moment when Nusaybah went forward, with her sword unsheathed and her bow in her hand, to join the small group of archers as they were standing firm with Rasulullah [sallallahu alayhi wa sallam], acting as a human shield to protect him from the arrows of the idolaters. Every time danger approached Rasulullah [sallallahu alayhi wa sallam] she was there to protect him.

Rasulullah [sallallahu alayhi wa sallam] later said, “Wherever I turned, to the left or the right, I saw her fighting for me.”

  1. #1 by bLuepearl on April 3, 2011 - 2:54 pm

    I simply love this post picture. Sub7anallah, I never knew this story until today – is it in hadith. What a great inspiration for us all. Alhumdulillah. thank you for sharing this.

  2. #2 by mona on April 3, 2011 - 10:14 am

    Nice one, dear.
    We shoudn’t tolerate everything..

  3. #3 by Asma Khan on April 3, 2011 - 12:55 am

    Thought provoking post…Totally agree…

Leave a Reply

