Personality Plus & Personality Puzzle

Since the post Stop Your Ukhuwah, I tried harder to finish this book review. I will try to make it as simple as possible and still making you all curious about these books. These books are written by Florence Littauer. I suggest you all to read Personality Plus before Personality Puzzle. The books are tied to one another and really helps us to understand ourselves and others. Because, wether we like it or not, we have to communicate with people. We have to deliver our message to them and hope they can understand it. Sometimes, we easily give up and think the devil inside this certain person is too fat, can’t get rid of it easily 🙂 But think about it, is our communication failed because people are too stupid to understand us, or our methods are wrong? Usually the methods, right? 😀

On these books, we will find out the basic character of human being. What motivates people and how to deliver message to them. But mostly, the books will help us to categorize ourselves. By understanding ourselves, we know when we reject the truth out of selfishness and we know when we want people to do what we want for the sake of righteousness or only for the sake of  proving we are better than them. When we practice this by ‘studying’ people around us, we would know what their characteristics almost instantly only by the clothes they wear, the missing buttons of their shirt, how their body moves when they talked, etc. Seriously, this is a very interesting book to read. And, we know what is our emotional qualities and weaknesses and how to make them as power. Because when we have very little understanding of ourselves, it is going to be harder for us to understand others and deliver our message.

Florence explained in these books, that there are 4 basic characters or personalities of human being, they are sanguine, choleric, melancholic, phlegmatic. This truly can help us interact better. For example, a choleric who is naturally aggressive might want to be softer when he wants to deliver his message to an anxious melancholic. Or a passive phlegmatic will realize when his passive and easy to be satisfied personality distract him from better chances in life. You know, things like that 😀 The simple quadrant of the characters can be shown like the following pictures, but as always, books are better than the movies and books are better than the reviews 😀

The book also have personal test at the back and the numbers are pretty accurate. Seriously these books are fun!! This will make you understand your employees, friends, family, and everybody better. This will help you to decide which ways are best to deliver your message to people.

Since I am trapped on making my blog as Islamic one, I will share again this article that explains how Rasulullah salallahu alaihi wasalam understands his people precisely. These books are not holy books, but they can help us better in manner, and making our point to people. When we deliver the truth to others in ways they can’t accept, it will be useless. We are a complex emotional  creation. Which is cool 🙂

And after taking the test, I am a combination of sanguine-choleric. That’s why it is hard to talk to me sometimes. I am so stubborn and would aggressively debating, sanguine is talkactive and choleric is aggressive? (I am better now by the way 😀  ) Have you read the books? Tell me, which one are you?


  1. #1 by rialive on April 9, 2011 - 7:19 am

    @ Mike : I know 😀

    @ sister Zahra :
    I did! Jazakillah khair, sister!

    @ sister Halima : wa alaikum salam. These books are OLD books and i know that there are newer approaches with simpler tests. What I truly wanna point is, we need to understand ourselves before understand ppl, and also we need to treat people better, before they treat us better ways too. Hehehhe.. And yes, at least in my place the concept in still around with newer package. I read this about 9 years ago, and i decided not to read more books with same topics. Just ACT on it! Right? If you noticed sister Halima, more and more people dont have good manners and they expect so much. I love the books because at that time, they changed how i behave. 😀 Keep visiting, sister, always LOVE your insights. jazakillah khair 🙂

  2. #2 by Halima on April 9, 2011 - 6:54 am

    Asalaamu aleikum-

    Well, interesting post. But I have to point out that the book doesn’t have a very new idea- in fact these categories of Sanguine, Phlegmatic etc,as a scheme for explaining personality types, were around in the philosophies of medieval Europe! The Sanguine type is supposedly ruled by the blood ( the word”sanguine” is related to the word for “blood” in Latin), the Choleric, if I remember right, is to do with “bile”, the Phlegmatic is due to an access of “phlegm”, or muscous (ick!), and the Melancholic is to do with “darkness’ or “depression”.
    I’m a “Phegmatic”, by the way!

    This philosophy of the “Four Humours”, as it is called, dates back at least as far ancient Greece- but it was very popular in the Middle Ages and Renaissance. It attributed each “humour”to an access of blood, yellow bile, black bile and phlegm.
    Interesting to see it’s still around today!

  3. #3 by Zahra on April 8, 2011 - 2:08 pm

    Assalamualaykum..book lover! check this out 🙂

    http://ababilzahra.blogspot.com/2011/04/awards-from-sister-to-sister.html

  4. #4 by Michael A. on April 7, 2011 - 10:42 am

    Love these books!

  5. #5 by Amirullah Widodo on April 7, 2011 - 8:03 am

    Assalamu’alaikum, ukhti Ria
    This is good for da’wah. Tengs. Can you tell me more books to read together with this?

    • #6 by rialive on April 7, 2011 - 8:34 am

      Wa alaikum salam, akhi Amirullah Widodo.
      Because you are Indonesian, I can suggest you to read two more books ESQ and ESQ Power. It is about combining people skill and spiritual intelligence and the power of it in da’wah that you can extract. I also suggest you to join the training if possible (actually it is very possible). So please do if you are a serious da’ee.
      Please visit the ESQ Leadership center near your place. Jazakallahu khair for visiting this blog.

  6. #7 by rialive on April 7, 2011 - 7:17 am

    @ JCK : Hello jck! Why wouldn’t this be found in a muslim blog? 😀 Your curiosity and very stable temper even when you don’t like some people makes me think you are choleric-phlegma, am i right? Hehehe.

    @ Christine :
    I don’t forget your curiosity about polygyny. And I hope it is not at all just curiosity but also in search for the truth. Okay I will try to explain this a bit more in my next post by the permission of Allah. hugs!

    @ Muslim : Wa alaikum salam, thank you for supporting through all this time. I will try inshaAllah.

    @ kak Mona : yeah, you did borrow it from me, have you give them back to me? 😀 😀 just kidding. Mellow-sanguine can also be a sensitive leader, kak. It’s a choice 😀 xoxo

    @ Viera :
    Good morning!! InshaAllah I will try to explain more. xo!

  7. #8 by Viera on April 7, 2011 - 6:58 am

    Good morning Ria,
    Reading this notification from my mail N reading the title made me curious. Books! I am so very lazy at reading so please explain more. Thank you, this is a very interesting post. xo!

  8. #9 by mona on April 7, 2011 - 6:32 am

    i borrowed the books from, you.
    remember?
    melancholic-sanguine 😀
    a talkactive-pessimist

  9. #10 by muslim on April 7, 2011 - 5:46 am

    assalaamu alaikum Rialive,
    I always love your thought stimulator posts, but I would love for you to explain this a little bit more. Thank you for taking your time to manage this amazing blog.
    Jazakilah ya ukhti.

  10. #11 by Christine on April 7, 2011 - 3:46 am

    Hi! Very nice post! I read the book Personality Plus & it is awesome! A bit secular for a muslim don’t you think? 😉 I think it is better for you to explain every single personlities one by one. Next post, maybe?
    And don’t forget our curiosity about polgyny. Seriously very nice post. Mine is melancholic with a little bit plhegmatic.
    hugs!

  11. #12 by jck on April 7, 2011 - 2:04 am

    Hello Rialive. I never thought I would read this post in a muslim blog. Anyway I was a fan of you and now I like you even more!
    That’s why you respond my mail very nicely. Same point as the other people did, but different method, huh? You’re dangerous 😀
    What do you think I am? Can you guess?

Leave a Reply

