Random Fatwa

The best thing about spending some of my life in blogosphere is that I get to find many kinds of people and I am very excited to see that many muslims out there very eager to be a more practicing muslims. I receive so many question from the comments regarding my opinions about some things and I feel honored that there are people who think that what I say matters. I would love to answer all the questions about my personal opinions, that’s what this blog is all about. But this is very important for me to explain, THIS IS NOT A FIQH BLOG.

I am not an expert for people to ask about fiqh matters. I know that in some blogs that I don’t know what is the educational background of the writers, they can give easy conclusion of this is haram, this is halal, that hadith is weak, that person is kufr, and so on. Do you understand what I am trying to say? When we easily just absorbs everything from random people on the internet, it will be very very dangerous. Why? Because we can be easily trapped into following the opinions that suit our desires. And this is deen we are talking about, the most lovable way by the side of Allah subhana wa taala in worshipping Him. This is serious matter. But too bad there are people who has so few knowledge is acting even smarter than a PhD of fiqh from Al Azhar or Madina or other leading Islamic university. They started their explanation like this; I am not an expert on fiqh but “I think” it is haram, well.. hello?? Who cares what you think?! Don’t talk about anything you don’t have expertise in and leave it to the experts. If you follow an imam, recommend him to the person. Wallahy, stick to your advice about hijab style, shopping tricks, bags and shoes, stay out of fiqh!

Now, many people want to know what is the fiqh of some issues, asking the a person that they don’t know what his/her background is, will take what they say regardless it is right or wrong only because they think it is suitable for their desire. Note this, IF you want to ask a person about some things to prove on how right you are, that is a huge mistake. When you ask something (to the right person), you have to be ready to change your previous opinions. You can’t ask a person and when his answer makes you look wrong then you go find another person to ask until you find someone to confirm your mistakes are right. It is out of line! FAR!

Understand this, to study fiqh, a person must be fluent in Arabic, reading, meaning, understand the historical meaning behind the words. They also have to understand the tafseer behind every single ayah and word. It is very difficult, people. That’s why we CANNOT just follow every random people. Specially me! If the arabic has no dots, I will not be able to read it; if the Qur’an has no translation, I will not understand what I read; and reading tafseer once in a while will not make me an expert. And so does many other people.

I strongly suggest the people who wants to know fiqh matter to talk to fiqh experts. You may ask to the scholars near you, but still you have to treat them in justice. People have different expertise, some will be in hadith, in da’wa techniques, in tafseer, etc. When an imam doesn’t answer your questions, doesn’t mean he’s stupid, probably he is being wise by not answering matters he has no expertise on and we should highly respect that. I’ve seen a popular da’ee, he is an expert in da’wa, he can sing very well (he has a relogious album, I guess), he was also a model (I don’t think he is handsome at all, though, but mashaAllah he has many fans), he is an expert on da’wa. Girls with mini skirts will wear hijab after listening to him, seriously, some Indonesian celebrities are now very Islamic since he came along and take them to Islam, alhamdulillah. But, he made a huge mistake. He started to appear as an expert of fiqh. And I saw in a TV live show how he made mistakes in answering a question regarding fiqh. That is just too wrong. That’s why don’t push an imam to answer a question, or when he asks for time, have patience. Seriously, fiqh is a serious matter.

I am also asking for your honesty, do you ask because you need to know the answer? Or you need to know how right you are? Or you simply testing the scholars? Remember, respect all the scholars. May they all have long life and get the best reward in all that they do. But they are human, the made mistakes, so don’t argue with them. Be grateful for all the scholars around us because they save our time to study their subject so we only need to ask from them. Alhamdulillah.

Now please don’t ask me about some specific mazhad, I am not an expert. But if you ask me, do I follow one? Yes, I do. And what is that? I will not answer 🙂

For people who asks me about fiqh, now you know why I don’t answer. Not because I don’t respect you, but because I don’t have enough qualification to answer your questions. May Allah forgive me if I offended any of you readers. If you are an Indonesian, I strongly suggest you to read the work of Prof. DR. M. Quraish Shihab. He is an expert in arabic literature, graduated from Al Azhar University, and his tafseer Al Mishbah is really really good (seriously, really good) Although he will not answer every question, probably because some problems are difficult to judge and he is a very wise and a careful man on saying everything. If you can suggest any other imam or shaikhs, please mention in comment.

Still, don’t give up on learning our beautiful deen, keep learning! Just don’t ask random people, or the internet, you know .. Shaikh Google 😀 Be confident to ask your problems to the scholars near you (they will not insult you, and if they do, there are always another scholars) and alhamdulillah, we have many of them now. If they need time to answer, wait. If they can’t answer, respect their humbleness and find other scholars. May Allah make it easy for us all on learning our deen and most importantly to act on it.

Wallahu alam bishawab.

  1. #1 by rialive on April 11, 2011 - 7:04 am

    @ Kak Mona
    Glad to know that, kak 😀

    @ Muslim
    We’re talking about fiqh, not the way on how to revive the ummah. Abu Sangkan and Ary Ginanjar have outstanding and unique ways to make people understand Islam more, may Allah bless them for what they do on reviving the ummah, but I doubt they can speak arabic. By Allah, be objective 🙂

    @ Fathya
    DR Zakir Naik is an expert in da’wa. He’s one of the kind. I love him a lot even though I never understand what he says for his accent. I don’t know if he knows fiqh. Wallahu alam. May Allah bless him with long life, and reward him good 😀

    @ Little Auntie
    Jazakillah khair, Aunty. Pls keep vising and remind me if I went wrong, dear 🙂

    @ sister Halima
    Wa alaikum salam, sister Halima.
    I don’t know what makes people desperate to ask random people on the internet. Lazy or suspicions against the scholar? There are questions about it too. LOL
    And honestly, your comment also among that I waited the most. I love your insights, you make my blog richer in views, mashaAllah. Keep visiting sister, and don’t hesitate to tell where I went wrong.

  2. #2 by Halima on April 11, 2011 - 3:35 am

    Salamz, Sis-

    There is a blog I sometimes visit where the muslima blogger tries to initiate very philosophical discussions on topics like “what is the nature of evil?”- I commented that we don;t need to have such discussions really because Allah SWT has told us what is good and what is bad in the Qur’an. She replied that as Muslims we shouldn’t just follow like sheep- we should use our brains to work things out for ourselves! I then replied that most of us are not learned, qualified scholars, and we will just lead ourselves deeper into confusion- of course, she disagreed! So I said I could use my time in better ways and I gave up.
    I wish more bloggers were as honest and straight-forward as you, mashallah. Yours is one of the few blogs I continue to read, and although I don’t always agree with you 100%, I always find your views refreshing and thought-provoking. And you are very conscientious about your deen always, and not at all egotistical, mashallah! Lovin’ it, Sis

  3. #3 by Little Auntie on April 10, 2011 - 11:13 pm

    Well said!!!! Ma’shaAllah.

  4. #4 by Fathya on April 10, 2011 - 10:39 pm

    I like DR. Zakir Naik 🙂

  5. #5 by muslim on April 10, 2011 - 10:37 pm

    Assalamu alaikum
    And I don’t really admire Quraish Shihab. I like Abu Sangkan more. Or Ary Ginanjar.

  6. #6 by Mona on April 10, 2011 - 9:56 pm

    I love it, dear

Leave a Reply

