Questions From Readers

Some questions don’t need long answers but I got lazy to answer them. Today I don’t work, so I look at the ‘unapproved’ comments to reply some. Ooops don’t be scared, no names will be published and the ones who wished to be answered by mail (not fiqh matters) and I had not answer, have patience and try the recommended people that I sent through your mail, if they answer  you please let me know 😀

Most of this questions started with “salam alaikum” and “I love your blog”, etc. etc. So, wa alaikum salam and jazakumullah khair. Some questions need similar answer, I just put them in one paragraph.

Question :
So, you mean we can’t ask shaikhs about fiqh?
Answer :
It’s not what I meant, some shaikhs are very good sometimes  (most of the times) and you may ask them, alhamdulillah. What I want to underline is, don’t ask random people. Even though they look nice like me 😀

Question :
What do you think about the dhikr majlis led by Arifin Ilham? ESQ by Ary Ginanjar? Some says the hadith is weak.
Answer :
If you ask me what I think, alhamdulillah Arifin Ilham and Ary Ginanjar found a method that can attract people to say the names of Allah subhana wa taala. This majlis also teach people to be clean, go to masjid, read Qur’an, etc. So, no worries, as long as it doesn’t teach anything against the religion. These men have done amazing job. May Allah subhana wa taala reward them good and grant them long life to continue their amazing job on reviving the ummah. Amin.

Question :
Do you have Jamaah Tabligh, Hizbut Tahrir, Ikhwanul Muslimin, in your country? I don’t like them. What should I do?
Answer :
If you don’t like them, don’t follow their majlis, but NEVER judge them when you don’t know what the actions based on, what they are fighting for, and what their visions is. If you also want to learn about them, find THEIR IMAMS and ask them NICELY, not the excited participants who only come once in a while to clap hands or say mashaAllah. Find information to the right source.
And please, respect them all, and love them all, they are fighting for the ummah with their organized da’wa. And yes we have them here, and most of them (who is actively involved in their da’wa, not the participants) have very good akhlaq and have noble visions for ummah. Alhamdulillah.

Question :
What do you think about fat shaikhs? No beard shaikhs? ‘jeans’ shaikhs?
Answer :
I think they are cute 😀
No, I’m just joking. It is just appearance. Alhamdulillah there are now many many shaikhs out there trying to make their best on da’wa. Let’s focus on their works rather than their outer looks.
Some people are just fat by nature. Like me, I can eat everything but I will still be slim (alhamdulillah), but some people will get fat only by drinking water. Right?
Some people just don’t have much hair. Like my little brother once wanted to grow beard and he ended up with only 3 sad hair on his face. I am serious, some people just genetically can’t have beard. (like me LOL)
Jeans are not haram 😀

Question :
I have problems. I hate praying in masjid because there is always a man telling me that I pray wrongly (where I put my hands), how I sit in the middle of rakaah, etc.
Answer :
First of all, alhamdulillah, you are a practicing muslim. The people who do that to you is only want to make da’wa, so just say “jazakallah”. As long as you follow somebody trustable regarding the way your salah, then you should continue what you used to do.
I hope you don’t put your hand on your head, or making ninja moves on salah 😀
Some says put hands beside you, below the chest, or on the chest, there are hadiths to justify it. I am not qualified to tell you one hadith is better than the others, because my Islamic teacher told me, every narration end up to the sahaba so it’s like trying to prove them wrong. Wallahu alam.
Alhamdulillah, you pray. We should focus on 80% of muslims out there who don’t pray.

Question :
Some says we can’t pray tahajjud with alarm to wake us up. Is it true?
Answer :
I never found any literature regarding that  matter. But I do alarm, and I also have tahajjud miscall group. My islamic teacher says it is fine and I trust him.

Question :
Are you a salafi? Are you a sufi? You focused too much on love.
Answer :
How do you categorize people as salafi, sufi, etc? Please don’t ask me such questions.

Question :
I have a problem with my life partner. They got cold. What advice can you give me?
Answer :
(Wallahy I am SO not the right person to be asked this)
Alhamdulillah you are concerned about your marriage life and want to make it  better. I suggest you to go and find marriage counselor.
What I want you to think about  is, most people are ignoring their partner’s youth and then end up complaining when suddenly their partners grow old and no longer attractive. Have balance and appreciate the loved ones sent by Allah subhana wa taala to you to enriched your lives.
I think my advice is pretty cool 😀 Yikes!

Question :
In the day of judgement, we will face Allah and will get hisab, and also there will be scales of our deeds. Also the sun will be very close. I can’t imagine it.
Answer :
Is there anyone telling you to imagine it? If so, don’t listen to them. Wallahy, the day of judgement is a promise made by Allah subhana wa taala. Don’t imagine the things that we will just going to find out anyway. Focus on reality, don’t analize ghaib matters too deep, because (I’m not joking) you can go crazy.


You see, mostly some questions are about asking about somebody else. When you involved in a group to strengthen your iman and actively making da’wa, alhamdulillah. There is nothing wrong about it. What is wrong is : when you begin to find reasons to think that the group you are involving is the most righteous one and others are wrong. We should stop it. Centuries have gone by for us fighting over issues that can be solved only by respecting each other.

I respect all of you who tries to find proof that this or that group is wrong, but honestly, I don’t watch the links you sent me. I don’t want to hear a ‘shaikh’ screaming and say this jamaah is wrong, that jamaah is wrong. No! First of all I don’t like screaming beardies on my laptop screen (they freak me out), secondly, we believe in laa ilaha illallah. What differs one group to the other is only the way they make da’wa. So no, stop sending me links.

Alhamdulillah, there are many well organized da’wa group or majlis out there, lead by scholars from leading Islamic universities. They gather the ummah in one organization and make them understand the deen better. These scholars, these serious da’ee, they invest their time, money, emotions, energy, striving to build a strong ummah. The get thristy, sweating, and leaving their families to make the best for this ummah. What about us? Probably we attend the meeting once in a while. Got goosebumps from the khutba, crying over some nasheeds, and then we go home, the excitement will go away for 3 days. But, then we sit in front of the screen trying to find proof and confirmation that we are better than this and that, that is WRONG. I will never get tired of saying this, respect the scholars (no matter how you hate their style or appearance). They are the warriors of this deen.

None of the da’wa organizations should fight. They are partners. Of course they will make mistakes, but who doesn’t? If they start to preach that 5 daily prayer  are not compulsory, or changing the qibla to New Zealand because Mecca is too crowded already, then let’s fight them, I’ll fight with you. Stop sending me links of screaming beardies proving some groups are wrong. Stop fighting, we are one body. Focus on similarities not differences.

Anyway, I made special mail for my blog, so please send your critics (with nice words, please) and questions to that mail (see the side bar). And if you trust me for your problems you might want to trust my recommendation on which scholar you need to ask regarding that matter. Wallahu alam. Much love

  1. #1 by Ruddy on June 1, 2011 - 6:06 pm

    Salamz,
    May Allah reward you for writing this.

  2. #2 by rialive on April 12, 2011 - 10:24 am

    @ Ayesha Haroon
    sister Ayesha, can you imagine, they asked me about marriage! SubhanAllah.. haha!

    @ Rahmi

    Finally you gave me something to publish. I avoid the discussion on my blog because it will be like another blogs, unfocused discussion and there will always be some fun-suckers provoking hate among us. And you ask other question! Sorry I have to edit your comment.

    @ kak Mona
    Jzk kakak.. Reason not to love me? Hmmm.. How could you not love me? I’m fabulous by nature 😀 😀 😀

    @ Muslim
    Exactly, we judged people by what 3rd parties told us. And mabrook for the new perspective, I only hope it is positive inshaAllah.

    @ Tatiana
    Gila ya Tati, pake bhs Inggris napeh?

    @ Aisyah
    wa alaikum salam dear sister Aisyah, miss your message dear.
    exactly, we are just a common people, we have no expertise in judging groups and majlis and all. Just think simpler and focus on our own iman and ibada. HUGS!

  3. #3 by Aisyah on April 12, 2011 - 9:11 am

    Been a while, Rialive. Need to catch up with your post.
    I like this one. We just need to think simpler, no need to judge and analyze things too deep.
    Assalaamu alaikum and hugs!

  4. #4 by Tatiana on April 12, 2011 - 7:41 am

    Gila ya Ree.
    Otak lo keren abis, bo!!

  5. #5 by muslim on April 12, 2011 - 7:20 am

    We are one body. Simple but so profound. Jazakllah for this post, you give me new perspective.
    I still think some groups above are wrong but you are right, I don’t know them very well n never asked the imams.
    Once again, thank you.

  6. #6 by Mona on April 12, 2011 - 6:59 am

    I like your answers darling. Those are very serious questions actually hehehe but you made it light
    and beautifully explained. Now give me a reason not to love you more, xoxo

  7. #7 by Rahmi on April 12, 2011 - 6:00 am

    Finally my question is answered. U have a very interesting personality, hope to meet you in person.
    Bravo for the new mail!

  8. #8 by ayeshaharoon on April 11, 2011 - 10:49 pm

    haha.. 😀 Good work!!

Leave a Reply

