Whip Our Hijab Back and Forth??

image source

Some questions regarding M.U.S.I.C..

Dear Rialive,

What do you think about music?
Do you think music halal or haram?
What kind of music do you like?
Where do you stand on music? <<<< This is a good question.

Answer :

First of all, why is my thought on music being haram and halal matters? It doesn’t matter at all. If you want to know the religious point of view on music, you can ask the scholars near you. You can ask all the reasons why they permit or prohibit it. Scholars have different opinions about this and (wallahy) I don’t have enough qualification to say anything against any of the opinions. If I said it’s haram, that means I am saying I know better from professors graduated from some leading Islamic universities, or the other way around. So I’m not going to explain about fatwa, I already made it clear that this is not a fatwa blog. But I will answer the questions about my personal opinion regarding music.

For my early readers, you would know that I had a category concerning music, the category had been inactive since early December 2010 so I deleted it. Why is it inactive? Simple. I don’t listen to music anymore. Not even what they call islamic nasheeds, I don’t listen to them. Well, okay, you might think to stop reading this because I begin to sound like an extremist 😀 No, please continue and understand why I choose to stop listen to music, it is all very logical.

Dear readers, I grew up with music. I felt like I couldn’t live without it and I felt like my life will be empty if I don’t have music in my life. I used to have a music page with thousands of fans throughout the world on facebook, yes, thousands of fans. I was involved with one of the biggest university rock music festivals in my country. So yes, I did love music very much. Specially with the random thesis that fools people explaining that person who loves the genre of music that I like is.. you know.. kinda smart 😉

Honestly, I heard about many scholars putting music as haram (prohibited) years ago. But then I looked for other opinions and I found it, music is permissible as long as it doesn’t promote sinful actions. My friends giving me options of so called islamic music, some groups, and some cute guys promoting dhikr… it was so boring. From a person who listened to Metallica switching to Raihan (a group from Malaysia) was truly a struggle, and it didn’t work. So what did I do? I sorted out my music collection, to make me listen to only what I thought to be ‘acceptable’. It was another struggle :mrgreen: On the way, I also found some islamic music groups that I like, until now, I just don’t listen to them anymore — doesn’t mean I hate them —

Until one night, I don’t know what hit me. When I was sorting songs from an album by Avenged Sevenfold, I was thinking, this is just music, why putting so much effort to make it permissible for me to listen to it? This thing distracts me from my concentration. And if I was sad, listening to music will boost up my spirit, for a while, but prayer and dhikr will solve it. If I was angry, listening to Linkin’ Park will make me even angrier and it is not good. If I was happy, I will be so jumpy, and music distract me from being grateful. I memorize the lyrics too much, they are not even in my own language, I wish I had used my memory space to memorize Qur’an and Hadith. That night I felt like an idiot, I was so embarrassed. Then, in a few clicks I deleted over 12 GB of my music files. Few clicks and I have more space to put other useful files.

So be honest, people. Do music really necessary? Doesn’t matter if it’s halal or haram, we can debate this until the end of time, the opinions are both there. But, for our own good, be honest to your own self, is it really worth it?  Our lips are easier reciting the words from our favorite songs than Qur’an. We memorize the history of our favorite musicians better than we understand the life of the Prophet salallahu alaihi wasalam. Is it seriously worth it? Is music really THAT important? And then for the so called islamic music. Is listening to them really help us on our remembrance of Allah and understand the deen better? Or only the cute face of Maher Zein? Or the upbeat tempo by Native Deen? Imagine, doing dhikr while nodding our heads to the tempo of music, sounds stupid? Then imagine  THIS : whipping our hijab, or niqab, or beard back and forth to the music and reciting takbeer and tahmid. RIDICULOUS!!

And the best thing is, it’s been months for me not to listen to music. No signs of nausea, fever, shivering, or other disturbing withdrawal symptoms 😀 . So, if you trust me, I’m telling you now, giving up the addiction to music is the easiest EVER! And you will not miss it even one second! What will you do with your mp3 player or Ipod? Find some lectures and Qur’an mp3. It’s better. I think my music jihad is going pretty well…. What about you? Wanna start? Ask yourself is music really THAT important?

  1. #1 by iamatullah on January 14, 2013 - 12:10 pm

    Reblogged this on theamatullah.

  2. #2 by Hijabs Online on September 29, 2012 - 8:37 pm

    I love the title of this page…Whip Our Hijab Back and Forth! So many points of view!

  3. #3 by Aslam Hossein on June 2, 2011 - 9:45 pm

    Mashaallaah, sister. Few friends had shared this over and over but I just read it just now. I can’t believe that you can explain it in so lightly manner while actually this topic is pretty tough to deliver. Keep up the good work! You get yourself a new fan.
    Ma salama

    • #4 by rialive on June 2, 2011 - 10:01 pm

      Jazakallah khair, Aslam.
      This is actually one of my most viewed post, alhamdulillah.
      Please also share it again 🙂

  4. #5 by SisterinDeen on April 23, 2011 - 5:54 am

    Salam Alaikum Ria,

    Masha’Allah, ur blog is v.beneficial, and v.honest, as you always remind yourself before others, keep up the good blogging 🙂
    “whipping our hijab, or niqab, or beard back and forth to the music and reciting takbeer and tahmid. RIDICULOUS!!”

    ^^^^ that made me LOL so hard, but so true.

    May Allah keep us persevering Insha’Allah.
    u also handle the critics of ur blog etc and many q’s v. well
    so much more to say, but just repeat
    GREAT blog 😀
    xxx

    • #6 by rialive on April 25, 2011 - 1:53 pm

      Wa alaikum salam warahmatullah wabarakaatuh

      Jazakillah khair, SisterInDeen 🙂
      I am so happy that you enjoy my blog and found it beneficial as well, may Allah bless you for the kind words.

      And I am so funny, aren’t I? LOL

      Please do come again,
      xoxo

  5. #7 by ronia on April 21, 2011 - 3:42 pm

    First of all, i would say that it is such a nice argumentation about ur own reason not to listen the music, whatever it is, then u give a choice to those whose hobby is listening it and smoothly ask them to move to other meaningful activities dealing with Islamic ways such as what u have done. Look like a fantastic ideas, i hope so.

    As you frankly mentioned that you re not one of any scholars of any kinds of particular academic majors including Islamic one, but it doesn’t mean that you may easily ignore such critical thinking, because ur writing in this blog is openly worldwide searched and read by any educational background, even uneducated one. Sure that as a new media,the content of this blog brings an effect to those who ‘re lovely followers whether in positive or negative perspective.

    sorry 2 say, i don’t know how 2 call U, Ustadzah, teacher, preacher, or whotever u re, at least u re still a sister in Islam. you know, every different scholars, preachers, human kinds has different perspective or way of thinking about certain subject, including to the Islamic teaching. i ‘ve ever heard from my colleague about the impression story of charismatic Ulamas, which Indonesian named them as ‘WALISONGO’ who had successfully introduced the Islamic teaching to various background of indigenous people, including educated one. The music such as Gamelan, Wayang and many others is one of tools introducing Islamic values to them.

    what i want 2 say is, it is not easy to claim a thing is ‘haram’ or ‘halal’, look at also its substance before giving the punishment, take into account the particular situation as well. However,what u ‘ve done may be not wrong, but might be relevant to u ‘ur-self and of course to others who ‘re also easily delighted to accept it.

    Now, blog is a new tool that everyone, whoever he/she is may use what he/she wants to….think about it.
    Then, since this blog is available for public sphere..so
    make it meaningful at least for ‘ur own mission. Lastly, so sorry suppose this comment is uncomfortable for u.

    • #8 by rialive on April 21, 2011 - 4:30 pm

      Salam alaikum Ronia.

      I never mentioned that I lean on the fatwa that music is haram at all, I only answered the question where do I stand on music and why I choose to stand on it.

      I thank you so much for reading my post. I do believe we may propagate Islam in any ways that’s not against Islam. What matter is (as one of a scholar that I look up to, said)I quote : “More important however is the authenticity of the message they present.”

      And not to worry, your comment is fine, alhamdulillah.
      Do come and feedback me again, inshaAllah 🙂

  6. #9 by rialive on April 21, 2011 - 7:46 am

    @ sr. Blue Pearl
    Not listening to music also wont make us a saint, dear 🙂

    @ sr. Zahra
    InshaAllah sister 🙂

    @ sr. Ayesha

    I’m so happy you’re agree with me. I know, sooo many lectures and amazing recitation out there.

    @ br. Ansar

    I don’t explain haram and halal, but I explain why I don’t listen.
    Islam is not by force, but this is only my logical decision.

    @ sr. Noni
    I admire you 🙂

    @ Michael
    I know, Mike. It was awesome. was…. 🙂

    @ sr. Halima
    That’s great, sister! I also sometimes HAVE TO listen to some music like in TVs or some shows that has nasheeds or public transport or even sport! I dont run and scream : HARAAAAM! lol i just dont need it anymore 😀

  7. #10 by Halima on April 20, 2011 - 11:27 pm

    I also don’t really listen to music anymore. And it’s not that I’m trying to be a “saint”, hehe! It’s not even something that I actually made a conscious decision about either. I simply found that over time, since converting to Islam a few years ago, that I have become less and less interested in music generally. Alot of it now I find distracting and even downright irritating. There is some music that I still like, and I don’t consider it EVIL!!!, but I don’t NEED it or find it essential in my everyday life.

  8. #11 by Michael A on April 20, 2011 - 6:49 pm

    Oh no.. That page was awesome!
    Anyway, I respect your decision..

  9. #12 by Noni Mustika on April 20, 2011 - 6:17 pm

    I admire you more, babe

  10. #13 by rasna on April 20, 2011 - 5:14 pm

    Salam,,,
    I heard lot of things over it… but your words are good still its not clear why or why not…?
    I love to listen music b4 from movies but since i started myself with islamic classes.. i deleted all those songs..
    but some islmic songs inspired me lot come closer to deen.
    its not easy to give up .. and also not easy to b in touch with good things..
    as i liten islamic songs whenever i walk or travel,, i feel good.. i listen dramas n speeches too in islam..

    I love samiyusf , zain bhikha yusuf islam, hamza robertson etc.. they all always pushing me to b in touch in islamic things..stop me from going for bad…
    “Allah know” of zain bhikha always help me to avoid from harmful n bad things and “last breath’ of ahmed bukhatir always remind me of death and process of it..

    as i saw many videos on it.. i dnt clear myself abt it…Prophet allowed the music at eid day,many scholars says dat was duff..
    for me islam is not by force..”Laikrahfiddeen”..
    i love islam n still i am studying it hard…
    i really appraecite ur words…carry on..

  11. #14 by Ayesha Haroon on April 20, 2011 - 3:04 pm

    Masha’Allah great answer.. 🙂
    Absolutely right; what to do with our iPod’s?!! I agree with yu, to find some good lectures and Qur’an mp3!! There are so many to listen to.. 🙂

  12. #15 by zahra on April 20, 2011 - 2:22 pm

    Cool Ria! This is my favorite post of yours! I am so into this music things once and yeah I have the same feeling like you did.I am stupid to use my time listening to music and remembrance the lyrics and not put that kind of efforts on Quran and hadith. Oh! lets start abandon music and adopt Quran in our life..

  13. #16 by bluepearl on April 20, 2011 - 2:20 pm

    I am not going to profess to being a saint because I do listen to music/radio but not everyday…I have an Iphone loaded with music but I dont really use it or my radio when I drive home, I prefer the silence in the car and its my time to just think rather than pollute my head but occasionally on the weekends especially, I like to listen to a favourite of mine. At home, I don’t listen to music – its my tv or my laptop that I tend to settle for.

Leave a Reply

