Muslim Portraits by Hollywood

I watch movies. I have some friends in movie rental stores and they texts me whenever new box offices come. I also have favorite DVD store to get my movies. My most favorite will be super heroes and animations, like Batman, Madagascar, Iron Man, Shark Tale, etc… but I watch ‘normal’ movies too. I watch movies since I was a kid and I notice the changes they made on the conflicts. Ah yes, people are getting bored of the lies they made by Rambo and Mafias topics, and haaaay…. we have new bad guys or spices for our movies!!  MUSLIMS!! And then they decorate their movies with ‘moozlumz’ everywhere.

So, some muslims decoration in movies are mostly not acceptable. They sometimes mis-used the sacred items in our world and take it just as art or humor. And worst, the  characters of the muslims… disastrous! Many many many movies that gives bad impression of how bad Islam is and the bad effect of people as muslims, and also some movies taking something that suppose to be sacred for us, as a joke. I will give the top 3 that bothers me the most.

1. Charlie’s Angels

Everybody knows this movie, about 3 pretty spy girls. Everyone love this movie, but I don’t. I HATE IT. Why? Because in a bellydance scene where these girls are having undercover, the director was being so unsensible by setting adzaan (our call to prayer) as the music to that dance. And the people didn’t even pay attention to the music because they are too busy watching the angels shaking their things out. Disgraceful! I didn’t watch the movie till finished. I was too angry… even until NOW! 😈

2. LOST

Who doesn’t love LOST? And when we know it has this muslim guy in it, we get more excited. Hmmmmmm, really?

This muslim guy, Sayid, he made out with a naughty blonde girl. Think positive, maybe they did the nikah but not on the scene (you know, the scene got deleted). This Sayid, torture and kill people, hmm… think positive… it probably self defense. This Sayid guy, he drink khamr! Oh come on Sayid, you need me to think more positive? Okay, it’s probably tea (in a bar) and… you’re drunk, Sayid?? Oh no!! And this Sayid guy did try to pray, once, but got distracted when Kim (the Korean guy) called him. Oh come on Sayid, everybody knows that we must not talk to people while praying!!! *frustrated*

3. Five Minarets in New York

This is the last movie that I watched. This makes me so mad. Muslims are portrait as stupids or extremist here. And the only good muslim in this movie, is this guy. Let me list the fact of his pious good moderate muslim life.
• His wife is so sexy! Oh wait, she’s a Christian… He said, no force in religion… Hmm probably there was some tafseer out there about the verse that I missed. Probably a good wife of a pious muslim should be Christian, right? Yeah.. We are lack of muslim sisters nowadays, I can’t even find one everywhere!! 😈
• His daughter is so close with that guy, the guy is touching his daughter!! Oh probably that’s his son *think positive*
• Oh no! That guy is her fiancé, and she lives together with him!! Aaaah, probably they stay in separate bedroom and probably she has another wali that is not introduced publicly in the movie on the house… hmmmm..
• Finally, they are married at least.. In church?! By a priest?! What?! 😈
• Adzaan!! Oh well, chit chat first, pray later…
• This good muslim man is very rich but he leaves his mom  and never visit or even send her money, she is very poor and blind!!
Wow, a very good man as a muslim. I am impressed!
And yes, I am being sarcastic.

Thinking to stop watching movie involving muslims made by Hollywood once and for all! GRRRRRRH!! Or just stop watching movie at all? Hmmm, why not??  Besides, I can do more with my time, right??

  1. #1 by Abdul CSI on June 13, 2011 - 12:24 am

    What about the movie “Traitor”? Did you liked it?

  2. #2 by rialive on April 25, 2011 - 12:31 pm

    @ sr. Ayesha
    I know.. 😥

    @ Little Auntie
    You don’t need to watch it, Auntie.. Makes you angry ..

    @ Dorya
    Well, he is the only muslim on the island, and not giving example at all! And yes, it is a humiliation. Hmmm

    @ sr. Halima
    I know sister, and i understand what you mean by some blogs recommend the movies, too sad..

    @ Jessica
    Yah, Sayid.. I take it very seriously, it’s not acceptable.

    @ Michael
    Cool? I don’t think so 😀

    @ Hamzah
    Thank you

  3. #3 by Hamzah on April 25, 2011 - 9:12 am

    Menarik. Very nice 🙂

  4. #4 by Michael A on April 23, 2011 - 10:09 pm

    LOOOL
    and I seriously considered 5 monarets is a very cool movie!!

  5. #5 by JCK on April 23, 2011 - 10:03 am

    I don’t know about number 1, but I watch LOST and Five Minarets. Yes, I think Sayid is not like a muslim at all.

  6. #6 by Halima on April 23, 2011 - 9:12 am

    Oh dear- where can I start?! I agrrrrree with you so much (that’s me agreeing while being angry, grrr!). I can’t watch these stupid irritating movies anymore. Most of the time it’s just pure ignorance, and the actors playing Muslims aren’t Muslim themselves- eg the actor playing “Sayid” in “Lost” is Indian/Sikh I think. What’s terrible is when Muslim/Arab actors star in these films where they play terrorists and other bad-guys- arrrrgh! Or films like “Five Minarets in New York” which is Turkish- ???!!! What are they trying to say ?-“we’re not religious fanatics, don’t worry, we’re just plain ol’ sinners like all you Western people!”
    And have you ever heard of the Canadian tv series “Little Mosque on the Prairie”? Oh boy, what a mess!
    What’s even more surprising to me is that Muslimas will recommend these films on their blogs and say how much they enjoyed them! I’m afraid I can’t be bothered to watch this stuff anymore- and I don’t think I’m missing anything!

  7. #7 by Dorya on April 23, 2011 - 6:09 am

    Sayid from lost! yes! I never thought of that!
    and Charlie’s Angels?? really?? that’s humiliation!

  8. #8 by Little Auntie on April 22, 2011 - 11:29 pm

    I am soooo angry. Horrible horrible depictions! I never heard of 5 Minarets in New York…I think there should have been much more outrage when these movies came out! We should not accept this.

  9. #9 by Ayesha Haroon on April 21, 2011 - 7:51 pm

    what a bad impression of muslims being showed!! 😦
    Thanks for sharing with us!

Leave a Reply

