Beauty Image

About two weeks ago, my friend tagged me on that picture. The cover of  a book, on how to put on your make-up so you can be as pretty as Miss Universe. At that time, I was thinking that my friend thought I was ugly.  I was thinking what is this suppose to mean? 😀 And with an event, Miss Indonesia, bombarding a TV channel on my place, it really got me thinking.

I’m not exaggerating, I don’t know now to put on blush-on, eye-lashes, mascara, layer after layers of powders and foundations and moisturizer, subhanAllah, I don’t know how to put them properly. I am a very practical woman, if I don’t think I’m gonna be able to stand the boredom to sit on the saloon to get a haircut, I’ll just put my hair on pony tail and have a huge scissor to cut it. 2 minutes done. I don’t need hours of preparation whenever I want to go anywhere, I’ll just put on my sunscreen and baby powder on my face and I’m done. And I never feel ugly for having so lack of make-up. That’s a virtue for me, nobody can convince me that I look ugly anymore, alhamdulillah.

Now, let’s face it. Why do we find so much justification for muslim women to be able to trim their eyebrow? Or to tattoo it (eventhough not permanent one, but it’s still a tattoo, come on..) Why do we find muslim women trying to justify that water-proof make-up and nail polish will be okay for wudhu. Why? Who injects the image of beauty on our heads that we need to pour 2 kgs of powder on our faces to make us look pretty? I don’t even want to touch the issue of bright skin, straight hair,  fat lips, and zero body size, the concept are just ridiculous! The standards are getting more and more sillier!

I am happy and very grateful to be a 15-minutes-ready-to-go-lady, that’s including a quick shower. Sometimes my friends needs over an hour to be ready to some traditional market to buy fish! Come on! What is the point? She’ll smell like fish eventually, so why bother? Funny, isn’t? 😀

So, how much is your beauty ammunition at home?

This much?
Or this much?
This???
OMG!! LOL

And the result will be…… *drumroll*

What do you think?

I am wondering if you need to have activities the whole day, and you dress so complicatedly, wouldn’t it be hard to re-arrange your hijab all over? I’m sure you can’t take just one time wudhu from 8 a.m to 5 p.m 😀
Wow, does it really have to be so hard on being a woman?

The best of all is, look at the prologue of the book, it is written by Donald J. Trump. LOOOOOOL is he pretty? What does he know about beauty? Does he work as a make-up artist? Or…. Is it actually men like him that is setting up standards for women in the entire universe on how to look pretty?? :mrgreen:
Think about it, seriously 😀

images source : Sister Z
  1. #1 by rialive on June 6, 2011 - 10:40 pm

    @ Little Auntie
    Jazakumullah khairan, sisters.. Your words mean a lot to me ♥

    @ Rahimunnisa
    wa alaikum salam,
    thank you for your comments, I agree with you, looking natural is better than to look so over-poured by powders..

    @ sr. Halima
    wa alaikum salam, sis.
    Wallahy I so hoped you would comment on this post. You know that this kind of comments always make me wants to write more and more..
    You’re right, sis, I think over the top make up and fashion following is another way of woman to made up for their lacks of showing in body curves.. They can defend themselves by saying that Allah loves beauty, but as the quote that I made in Christine comments,

    “We as muslims believe that Allah (God) loves beauty, but how Allah sees the beauty on human beings is different from how human beings see the beauty of one another” ~ Rialive

    Jazakillah khair, sis..
    xoxo

  2. #2 by Halima on June 6, 2011 - 3:20 am

    Salamz Sis!

    It seems to me that for some Muslimas, hijab styling and make-up is a compensation for not being able to display themselves the way other, non-Muslim women do. Ie., they can’t distract people with their hair, bodies, skin exposure, jewelry, etc., so they decorate their faces and hijab instead because that’s the only space left for them to display themselves.
    I know when I first started wearing hijab as a revert, that even though I was more covered than I had ever been, I still felt strangely exposed. Now ALL the focus was on my face- I felt my face was naked! I couldn’t distract people with hairstyles and earrings/jewelry, or cleavage and shorter skirts. Now I thought all people would see is uneven skin, dark under-eye circles and wrinkles- hehe! I thought “that’s the end of being pretty”!
    It took time, but I adjusted, mashallah. I became more comfortable with myself and confident. I still like to look nice , feminine and well-groomed, and I don’t think I need to be frumpy or un-attractive to be a Muslima.
    We shouldn’t feel, or be made to feel, that we as women/Muslimas need “work” to make us look acceptable. We shouldn’t feel the need to compensate by covering our faces with paint and decorating our heads like fancy birthday cakes! That kind of look with hijab is just distracting and immodest. I know some sisters will defend it with “But Allah loves beauty!”- but have they ever stopped to think that maybe, just maybe, Allah SWT’s definition of beauty is not the same as theirs?!

  3. #3 by Rahimunnisa on June 5, 2011 - 7:54 pm

    Assalamu alaikum,

    Really like your post. Even if women do not feel the need to do all tat makeup, they are pushed into thinking so. Shackled by chains of society filled with women. Anyways you wanted to know what we think of the picture.

    SHE LOOKS SOO CAKED UP. Its better to look natural then look like her. She looks abnormal. Like she tried too hard. 🙂

    And the prologue was written by Donald Trump? Then you can imagine. His silly hair has been a debateble topic for many. Do take care.

  4. #4 by Little Auntie on June 5, 2011 - 3:39 pm

    This post is just so Ria. And that’s a COMPLIMENT. Means awesome 🙂

  5. #5 by rialive on June 4, 2011 - 3:47 pm

    @ Ayesha
    Ameen, and you too, inshaAllah. jazakillah khair for your sweet comments habibty,, ♥♥

    @ Christine
    Exactly, plastic surgery is another extreme example. I’m so happy to see your comment, Christine. Keep them coming! ♥

    @ Hameeda
    Wa alaikum salam. Wa iyyaaki.. So happy to see you comment 🙂

    @ Somiyah
    Jazakillah khair for your comment on my blog, dear. And I am totally agree with you.. ♥ ♥

  6. #6 by somiyah on June 4, 2011 - 3:14 pm

    jzk sister for another brilliant subject to think about ……Especially now also surgery seems to be normal if you also want to look good….but then I ask myself what is considered good …..you know through magazines and tv we are led to… believe this is what we need to achieve…yes to a certain degree we need to take care of ourselves but not to the point where we live for the latest new lipstick or beauty treatment……I’m so happy one day that I will be judged by my good deeds and not how I look..

  7. #7 by Hameeda on June 4, 2011 - 12:05 pm

    Assalaam O Alaykum,
    jazak’Allah khair for this writing, it is very profound, masha’Allah.

  8. #8 by Christine on June 4, 2011 - 10:36 am

    Hi, Rialive. It’s me again! 😀
    Well, I think not only for muslim women, even us are fed up with this too. And even scarier, plastic surgery! It gets more affordable by time!
    Women are enslaved into these things and they don’t even know it! This is STUPID!
    And again, I hope you’re not bored of me saying this, another great post! I totally agree with you!

  9. #9 by Ayesha Haroon on June 4, 2011 - 9:29 am

    Another profound post!! 😀
    I agreed to last bit!!
    Subhana’Allah that’s ridiculous how sometimes women gets ready for almost an hour just to buy fish or some groceries!! 😀
    Keep posting/writing such articles!! I enjoy and love reading them ♥
    May Allah bless yu, ya habibty, Ameen ♥ ♥

  10. #10 by rialive on June 4, 2011 - 8:23 am

    @ Amatullah
    Wa alaikum salam! And the next thing we should think about, why it is so easy for us muslims to compromize our principles?

    @ Zakiy

    Wa alaikum salam! Ameen for your lovely dua. Please keep on sharing when you think it will have the benefit. Jazakallah khair.

    @ Annisa

    Thank you! I’m so happy you love it, sister!

    @ Amirullah Widodo
    Wa alaikum salam,
    Not only you’re allowed to translate it, but also you can polish to make it better. And please, when you polish my articles, I would appreciate it when you share with me. I would love to be fixed, inshaAllah.

  11. #11 by Amirullah Widodo on June 4, 2011 - 7:52 am

    Assalaamu alaikum,

    If it’s okay with you, I want to translate this post into our language, Indonesian, so many women will understand. I will link back at you, of course.
    Syukran for this very good post.

  12. #12 by Annisa on June 4, 2011 - 7:37 am

    Another provoking post! Love it, sister!

  13. #13 by Zakiy on June 4, 2011 - 7:18 am

    Salamu Aleykum,
    When I read this,I immediately print and shot to my daughter and share on my facebook. This post should make all women think more about why they are trying so hard. May Allah bless you for writing this.

  14. #14 by Amatullah on June 4, 2011 - 4:02 am

    Salam, Rialive.
    This is a very nice post, muslim women should think that hijab is liberating them from this kind of craziness, but yet the western community succeeded to ruin our principles. Allah knows best.
    Nice post!

  15. #15 by JCK on June 4, 2011 - 2:50 am

    Hi Rialive,
    Before you took off the your pictures from this blog, I have already been a loyal reader. I know how beautiful you are. For me, your posts are little bit different. You are very modern, very inteligent, very wise, extremely tolerant, but yet you are one of the strictest muslimah I ever met in real life or in net and … also very beautiful 🙂

    I agree with you in the brainwashing methods of what beauty really is. The industry had continously bombard us with the concept, the more you show your skin you are more beautiful, the more chemical you are putting on your face, you are more beautiful, and the list goes on to what you were saying, bright skin, fat lips, etc..

    As a Christian (that is not very religious), I saw muslim women covering her body with large clothes to avoid attention but they still use extreme amount of perfume and super over the top make up. For me, I think, forgive me if I am wrong then I would love to hear your explanation as always, it contradicts the concept of covering.

    Thanks for a very entertaining but also very intelligent post. This kind of provoking post is the reason of my coming back over and over. xoxo!

    • #16 by rialive on June 4, 2011 - 8:17 am

      Hi, Jessica!
      No you are not wrong, hijab is liberating woman from all physical form of exploitations, weather if it is make-up indutry, fashion industry, or even random eyes of men in the street. Alhamdulillah (All praises to Allah). And what you said IS truly contradict the whole definition of covering.

      “We as muslims believe that Allah (God) loves beauty, but how Allah sees the beauty on human beings is different from how human beings see the beauty of one another” ~ Rialive

      And your amazing comments is one of the main reasons I keep on writing, I love them! You make me able to arrange a new quote!
      may God bless you and guide you to His Path, ameen. xoxo!!

  16. #17 by Wendy (US) on June 4, 2011 - 1:44 am

    Dear Ria,

    I don’t think your friend thought you were ugly (’cause you’re not, and I’m sure she wouldn’t be that mean to you). I think maybe she shared it just as a general info to a female friend, as a lot of women seem to assume that every other lady also wears makeup, so could benefit from the information.

    Did you ever think about how with birds, it is the males of the species who are usually brightly-colored and flamboyant? It is, after all, the MALE peacocks who are such brilliantly colored pretty-boys, and this is to attract mates. However, in humans, it is the exact opposite… we are taught that to attract a mate, it is important to be “pretty,” and this definition usually includes makeup. It’s certainly not enough for use to DARE to go out bare-faced, am I right? 😉

    My makeup arsenal used to only include moisturizer (not tinted). As I’m getting older (can’t stop it, sadly), I’m feeling less confident about my natural skin and how it looks. My complexion isn’t as nice as it used to be. I wonder if these thoughts come from my own mind, or are they being subconsioucly forced on me by society’s whims?

    Thanks for your intelligent and amusing post, Ria… great writing, as always!

    • #18 by rialive on June 4, 2011 - 8:11 am

      Dear Wendy,
      Probably because I don’t see you in real life, but i saw your pictures, and I think your skin is awesome.
      Moisturizer is a need, because the pollution makes us dry. So don’t worry you’re safe LOL
      And thank you for your intelligent and great comment, as always!

Leave a Reply

