Yusuf : 64

Image source

Sometimes, there are times when the road feels empty. Have you ever felt like that, walking too fast, alone, spreading optimism and smile but inside we feel so dry? I have, many times, last time was… two days ago.. 😥 I am too busy these days, I don’t have enough time to spend with my friends, real life and online, I don’t have time to blog and blog-walking, I don’t have the time to read books peacefully (always in a hurry), it’s just so stressful.

Being involved in da’wah, and making a promise that I will not take any worldly reward for it, can sometimes be so tiring. Firstly, because many will ask for your time but since they don’t pay, they think our time is not very valuable (What can we do? Everywhere, everything is measured by money, even in the field of da’wah). Secondly, it is human nature when we are less optimist and excited when we don’t see any visible result of what we do.

So, yesterday, I was waiting for the dentist to open, tiredly walking on a book store. I didn’t plan to buy anything, I was just looking around, my head was empty, seriously I felt so tired physically and mentally. Out of nowhere, there was this thought on my head, why I should do all this? These people don’t care about you, they only want to make their events successful. Now that you’re tired, who cares? Is there any text asking how are you today? People only want you to be happy and energic, FOR THEM!

SubhanAllah, dramatic isn’t? 😀 Well, I made promise that I will try to press down any desire to complain and ramble. It’s just sound and makes me look stupid and it will slowly block my ability to be grateful for what I have. But that’s what happened. I was too tired.

Still looking around, I then saw a book without plastic wrap, then I just randomly opened it, and my eyes stumbled to the quote, from a verse of Qur’an,

“… Allah is the best to take care of, and He is the Most Merciful of those who show mercy!” [Yusuf : 64]

That’s how the author quoted the verse, she cut the verse in two and put the last half into her book..

Have you ever felt that goosebumps when you found something in Qur’an that really talks to you? Your eyes felt hot, your knees felt weak, felt like you don’t have enough calories to make your grip hold something? The feeling  is .. priceless.. 😥 (I didn’t cry at the bookstore, I swear! 😀 -)

Alhamdulillah, Allah subhana wa taala did not let me drown into my negative thoughts for long, only for few minutes. I am so grateful.. Alhamdulillah..

  1. #1 by voip call shop on August 7, 2011 - 11:37 am

    Lovely blog, nice

  2. #2 by Azra on July 27, 2011 - 12:38 am

    Great reminders in your post, Rialive. I guess dawah for money is a sensitive issue….what if someone wanted to sincerely devote all their time to dawah – how responsible would the community be for their upkeep then? May Allah reward you for all your efforts, InshaAllah.

  3. #3 by potentialhijabi on July 20, 2011 - 3:13 pm

    Assalamualaikum 🙂
    Your post made me smile 🙂 .. because I know at moments like these is when our imaan and enthusiasm to do everything for the sake of allah is reborn again or wakes up again! 😀
    Alhumdulillah for everything 🙂

  4. #4 by Moutasem on July 3, 2011 - 2:31 pm

    Masha’Allaah sister… it is amazing how Allah makes you come accross a verse just the right time… this is a real piece if writing!

    Moutasem al-Hameedy

    • #5 by rialive on July 3, 2011 - 6:16 pm

      Jazakallah khairan for your lovely comment, Shaikh..
      It was very emotional for me, subhanAllah..

  5. #6 by rialive on July 1, 2011 - 11:57 am

    Wa alaikum salam warahmatullah wabarakaatuh,

    Jazakumullah khairan for the comments everyone.

    Seem like I touched a sensitive issue 😀
    Material aspects in da’wah. I’m actually not against any speakers who take money in da’wah. I was expressing myself and not at all I was trying to prove that I am better than anyone.
    But in different perspectives, I agree with every comments, even the one that disagrees

    🙂

  6. #7 by Mona B on July 1, 2011 - 11:14 am

    Honey, actually, reminders are available everywhere, the fact that you realize and capture them just shows how sensitive your heart is.
    May we all be like you.

    Love you, Ree!

  7. #8 by Dorya on July 1, 2011 - 7:52 am

    I agree with you, but just saying’ that we kind judge the speaker by their fees.
    The more expensive they are then the more expensive the tickets will be and people will have better image on them.

    But I totally against commercial speakers who will only come when they are given much money.

  8. #9 by Zaid on June 30, 2011 - 9:14 pm

    Interesting for you to mention, it is true that even in the field of dawah, everything is measured by money.
    Even the scholars now are very materialist. This ummah is messed up.
    Astaghfrullah..

  9. #10 by hamzd on June 30, 2011 - 9:03 pm

    Well, actually, if people don’t pay, they will be less respective to any events.
    And it is good if you don’t take any money, but you should. You spend you time for the ummah.
    Just an opinion.

    I agree with you on many things, but I disagree with you on this 🙂

  10. #11 by Umm Ibrahim on June 30, 2011 - 8:19 pm

    Salamu’alaikum,

    very nice reminder, ya ukhti.
    Allah is the best to take care of!! Subhan’allah!
    May Allah reward you. 🙂

  11. #12 by Tasneem on June 30, 2011 - 6:57 pm

    Salam, Rialive..

    Again and again, very nice reminder..
    I love the verse, I love this post, I love this blog, and I love you!!

    JazakAllah for sharing this in such beautiful ways for us also to take lessons.

    xoxo,

    Tasneem

Leave a Reply

