Maher Zein Fever

This is not the picture of Maher Zein 🙂

This is one of the Ramadhan phenomenon that I noted — italic, bold, underline, font color : RED — I had this massive intention to write about this on my blog, subhanAllah…

Who doesn’t know this super cute looking guy, his name is Maher Zein. Caramel skin, well dressed, killing smile, good teeth, pretty eyes, beautiful voice and looking so Islamic. Oh yes, I know him. I saw him being posted over and over in facebook, my friends profile picture is his smiling face, and I saw his video clip called “InshaAllah” played in a public transport on Ramadhan when I got home from work, that was also the first time I listened to his one full song.

I never listened to music by intention anymore, why? I wrote it on this post. But sometimes I don’t have any choice from TV commercials, public transport, public places, etc. Alhamdulillah Qur’an recitation on my phone made me happy and really helped me on my stressed hours. I also take my headphones anywhere on long drive, to avoid my brain to be exposed to music along the way. So, since Maher Zein era, I never really listened to him. I have curiosity, but alhamdulillah I never fell into that trap.

Why am I writing this? I’m gonna share few experience regarding ‘Maher Zein’ 🙂

One of my friend, call her ‘A’, she had this rush to buy the original CDs, which was a bit difficult to find since it was Ramadhan, ‘religious music’ sale was rocketing to the seventh sky, subhanAllah. So, she went to this store over and over and over to spy on the CD, if it’s available or not. She was extremely excited to buy eventhough she had all songs on her phone.
I was like, this is no difference compare to me a long time ago having Jon Bon Jovi fever. What’s the difference? These guys made girls crazy, they are like ‘rock star’ — well, Bon Jovi IS a rock star, but even if Maher Zein is ‘islamically packaged’ the level of craziness that these guys spread to the ladies are all the same

My cousin, she has the music on her cell-phone. She listened to it over and over and over. She know how a great of a father Maher Zein is — before that, I thought he was single 😀 how did she know? let it remains a mystery —, how beautiful his voice is, how handsome he is, how cool the way he dressed is, how intoxicating his smile is, and at last but not least how noble is the lyrics he sings :p
Her husband, looked at me with this painful look… And I knew that he was jealous — poor guy

I don’t know about what happened in another part of the world, but here, Maher Zein is HUGE!! Everyone, young, old, woman, men, and everything in between are super crazy about him. This guy, Maher Zein, is an industrial product. He is a character, his image is created so commercially, his look is polished to please the eyes, and give him Islamic touch and there you go, the product is ready to sale. He is a celebrity in a music industry. That’s a fact. No, he is not a da’ee.

I will not going to push my opinions to people not to listen to this cute guy anymore. But I want to challenge everyone out there with these questions.
1. If he is not so cute, will you be so addicted?
2. Is it true, by listening him makes you remember Allah more? Or makes you love him more?
3. If it is the message of Allah subhana wa taala you truly love, give me one reason why you listen to him more than you listen to Qur’an?

We need alternatives of entertainment, I know. But this is too much. 😀

Waiting for your respond. Much love! 

 

  1. #1 by potentialhijabi on September 14, 2011 - 9:20 pm

    Assalamualaikum .. Nice post Ria! 🙂
    I listen to Maher zain’s music too.. A few of which I love .. not because he’s cute.. frankly i’ve never really watched any of his music videos properly .. so haven’t noticed him either 😛 .. I just listen to his music to avoid listening to other haraam music. Moreover even though his songs have too many musical instruments used which is a little disturbing .. I really love the lyrics and it is for that reason alone that I listen to them! 🙂

  2. #2 by Nabila on September 11, 2011 - 8:39 pm

    I have to admit that I listened to what you said as ‘so called islamic nasheeds’. But some scholars don’t put haram in these kind of music so I gues this can be my alternatives to avoid un-Islamic music. About the cuteness of the singers, it is true that if these guys were super ugly, no one will even bother to listen. But this is industry, a business, so appearance matters. You will choose the cake with better package right?
    I respect your decisions on not listening to any kinds of music at all anymore, I don’t know how you can stop, but I appreciate your attitude for not pushing fatwas agaisnt us. But in shaa Allah I will avoid watching his video too much for now 😀

  3. #3 by Tasneem on September 11, 2011 - 1:47 pm

    Another GREAT post, mashaallah 🙂

  4. #4 by Annisa on September 11, 2011 - 12:03 pm

    I love Maher Zein, I know that he is not a da’ee but he spread Islam by the talent he have and that is music. 😀

  5. #5 by Umm Ibrahim on September 11, 2011 - 10:59 am

    Salam, Ria

    I don’t think you need to be so strict about this. I think listening to Maher Zein is better that listening to the degrading music we are having in the music industry. At least the lyrics are modest and no naked women on the video.
    I disagree with you on this, but as you said on your profile, you are not a scholar, so your opinions can possibly wrong. Still love your blog tho’, much love too!

  6. #6 by Michael A on September 11, 2011 - 10:02 am

    That is the question I’m having in mind too, I begin to think that there is no such thing as Islamic music. Singing the praises to Allah seems not right.

  7. #7 by Ansar Ali on September 11, 2011 - 7:37 am

    Sister Riya… Assalamu alaikum…..Your blog is very simple and good. You write well. I have nothing to say about your blog post but a Quran verse;

    Allah says in the Quran: “Had We sent down this Qur’an to a mountain, you would have seen it humbled, burst apart out of awe for Allah. We cite such examples for people, so that they may ponder” (59:21)

  8. #8 by ZAYNAB BOLANLE RAJI-ELLAMS on September 10, 2011 - 8:30 pm

    MASHA ALLAH

  9. #9 by inna on September 10, 2011 - 8:03 pm

    mashaAllah well said

  10. #10 by Shyamaaa on September 10, 2011 - 7:56 pm

    Assalaamualaikum Sis Ria, hope u have recignized me…. 🙂

    Sister, MashaAllaah, you have written my
    mind. Astaghfirullaah I too joined the cute- singer’s- crazy- fan club…. But that was before I actually even listened to him, Wallaahi when I first listened, I knew right then, Im near haraam…. Same goes to Sami Yusuf…..

    Sister Ria, your blog is simply awsum… \m/ ….. I feel like you ripped my brain and saw my thoughts and gave them words.. JazakAllaahu Khayran… noone could have written it better…

    Just recently an fb friend posted this ‘islamic song’ , in spite it being filled with praises of Prophet SalAlaau Alaihi Wasallam, it was filled with beats and sounded more like a pop song nothing close to being Islamic. I aksed, whats the difference between this and the mainstream music , both are music, both are sung my cute looking singers, both have instruments, and both are soooo lovved by people…. how does this make it permissible?

    The question is not whether one should listen to singers like Maher Zain, question is , why are singers like him even allowed to sing???? Where are the fatwa makers when you really need them???

    Anyways, JazakAllaahu Khayran Ria, May Allah bless you with strength to write more, learn more , inspire more Aaameeen….
    You rocks!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

