Nine Eleven

Today is 9/11 Ten Years Anniversary. The news are broadcasting about it. New pages on FB appears to remind people about the sad event. FB statuses were about it, the ones who care and the ones who don’t.

For me, as a person who listened to the massacre in Palestine over and over, and lately following the news about drought in Somalia, a long time ago accident doesn’t really move me. I remember how shocked I was 10 years ago and how the analysis of so called smart people on both sides overtaken me, and confusing me. Probably because I don’t have a loved one gone by the accident, probably because it didn’t happen in my country… I can list more ‘probablies’, but the point is, I cared … but now it’s done so it’s done.

I love all my friends on Facebook, specially the ones that I keep for years, no matter what their religious ideals are, political views are, I respect their sadness, specially since I don’t know if the event hit them personally. I just think this 9/11 issue is over-commercialized and seriously there are more important issues to deal with even in that particular country itself, United States.

But with the so called accomplishment their government done by killing the Osama guy. People really needed to be reminded about how awful it was and hay, they got the man who did it and guess what, the election is coming up so let’s re-fresh their memories about the accomplishments we had done, exploit their sadness, and let them forget more important issues happening in the country. I am a skeptic at times…

So, Alhamdulillah, a Facebook page gave me a relieving post on another view of 9/11. Shaikh Navaid Aziz page posted this,

But if they repent, establish prayer, and give zakah, then they are your brothers in religion; and We detail the verses for a people who know.9:11

Now I can go continue my day having another perspective about the words, nine eleven. Alhamdulillah! Yay for Shaikh Navaid Aziz!

  1. #1 by Dorya on September 24, 2011 - 8:37 pm

    Hi, I read this but I couldn’t comment before. Cellphone issue. Yes, I feel a bit bored of it. I agree with you. Good one!

  2. #2 by Sophie on September 13, 2011 - 5:50 pm

    Hi, good post you have here. I don’t understand where the new point of view comes from still I share your analysis that this event is being over-commercialized. Good word actually.
    This anniversary is no longer held to honor the dead but to prevent us from thinking about the real issue happening in our country. I hate to say that most of the americans were fooled to the last minute and they don’t even realize it.

    Regard,
    Sophie White

  3. #3 by Juno Lover on September 13, 2011 - 2:23 pm

    At first I thought you were disrespecting the dead victims but you’re not. I understand your point n I respect that. Good blog!

  4. #4 by Abu Ibrahim on September 13, 2011 - 11:54 am

    Salam, new perspective! Nice!

  5. #5 by Hamzah on September 13, 2011 - 10:21 am

    Good one! Jazakallah khair!

  6. #6 by Michael A on September 12, 2011 - 10:03 pm

    You didn’t write to explain that Shaikh status, did you? You impressed me, again and again and again 😀

  7. #7 by Monica Scultz on September 12, 2011 - 5:01 pm

    This tragedy provokes bigger and bigger victims that was never mentioned. As if they don’t matter. Millions of people died to fight this terror. I don’t think the thousands lives that passed away on the accident would agree if they know their deaths were taken as justification to kill millions of innocent lives. Sad, but true!

  8. #8 by Julia M on September 12, 2011 - 3:43 am

    🙂 Your skill on making people do what you want is praiseable! I’m impressed!

  9. #9 by Christine on September 11, 2011 - 11:34 pm

    The problem with everything is, all these effin’ memorial stuff is one of so many ways on manipulating people. We are trying to believe our own lies that our troops are there fighting for a good cause while they were actually risking their lives for the government’s ego or even oil. This effin’ 9/11 freaking show needs to stop, the war needs to stop! If we really want to appreciate lives, tell the troops to come home to their family so they will not die for lies and somebody elses ego.

    As usual, great great great post. I am amazed how you make it light and easy to read. Hats off!

  10. #10 by Wendy Schmidt on September 11, 2011 - 10:17 pm

    Nice post…. thoughtfully worded, considers both sides.

    As you know, Ria, I’m a U.S. citizen. That day was very shocking, and it sucks that it happened. But, those were extremists, and many choose to ignore that, and think that those 19 mostly Saudi Arabian guys (not from Iraq or Afghanistan) are prime examples of your religion, and so began hatred and misunderstanding.

    I know 9/11 had a big impact on my country, in many ways. But, I also am tired of the coverage of the “anniversary.” I have been tired of it since last week, when it started, and I KNEW it was going to be like this. I remember well enough the stories that are being recycled from 10 years ago. No disrespect to those who died, the first responders, or to the families of victims, but… it’s time to move on. 10 years is a whole DECADE, and what has been done since then? Bad guys Saadam and Osama were caught, and executed. That was the whole point of the U.S. going to war in both those countries – to take down those leaders, so now what’s the point in endless war? It’s not positive for the citizens of Iraq/Afghanistan, nor the U.S. economy. All it is doing (I think) is making the extremist guys more angry, and resolved to fight back.

    I’m not posting this through my FB page, as I don’t want to offend any friends who may have lost loved ones on that day or have to deal with getting called unpatriotic ’cause I don’t agree with the decisions that commander-in-chief is making to send our troops into harm’s way for stupid reasons.

    — Wendy Schmidt

  11. #11 by JCK on September 11, 2011 - 7:17 pm

    Actually I’m a bit sick of it as well 😀 Do you remember me? Miss your blog, where have you been?

  12. #12 by Tatiana on September 11, 2011 - 7:00 pm

    Wow! You are SHARP! Love ya, mwah!

Leave a Reply

