Mini Skirts, Our Rights!

An Egyptian friend of mine, told me this,

“Indonesia is the largest Muslim country in the world, so before the plane landed I was hoping to see hijab all over the place, I was in shocked when this first thing I saw was girls with mini skirts wherever the eyes can see.”

I admit, I wasn’t always a hijabi like this. My hijab also transformed in several styles along with my understanding of this beautiful Deen, Alhamdulillah. With that, Alhamdulillah also, I came to realize more and more the ‘whys’. I am now 100% sure that hijab is only sent down to protect us, woman, because Allah loves us all. Allah wants us to be free from being the object of sexual exploitation.

————————–

About few weeks ago, the country was shocked about the terminology used by the media “rape season” in Jakarta. It was a scary thing to hear but it was the truth. The statistics of rape cases increases so fast in the last few months. The victims were kidnapped from the public transport, and they were taken to some place and they were abused. The last case that I heard was very sadistic, this woman, was raped by 4 men, that was brutal. I couldn’t even imagine if it happens to me, my sister, my mother, or my female relatives. 😥

And then the city made a new regulation “No Mini Skirts”, in public transport.  In my point of view, it is part of solution. Sadly, few days ago, a feminist group then made a demonstration defending their rights on wearing mini-skirts. I laughed and also wanted to cry at the same time. What is happening  to these woman? Why don’t they see the whole problems? Before you started to think that I am being judgmental  or I have this racism against mini-skirts, please read the entire post.

Yes, wearing everything you want is your personal issue, nobody needs to interfere with that. So does for that girl who was raped by 4 men at a time. Imagine you are living her shoes. The men can possibly be caught, be jailed for years… So what? She is still raped. Okay, lets add up the punishment, let’s give the 4 men, death penalty. So what? She was still raped!

I am not blaming anyone but the rapists. But it was very careless for any women who only wear skirts a little wider than her underwear. Let’s not get to the ‘inviting’ clothes issue, this post might get longer than it should. Yes, men need to control their minds, they need to control their desire. Yes, I agree with that. Even when the country give death penalty to the rapists, I agree with that, too. But when you are the victim, the punishment to men who raped you makes no difference. You experienced the trauma, you experienced the abuse, you experienced the pain, you suffered. Nothing can change that.

If only she travels with someone, if only she cover herself better, if only she brought pepper spray, so many “if onlies”… All meaningless “if only” when you were the victim.

When you want your house to be safe, you will have enough security system. If you are robbed when your doors unlocked, you are helping the robbers to be able to access your treasure easier.  Yes, the robbers might get caught, but you still lost your belongings. You will still suffer!

So, feminists, I’m not saying that you don’t have any right to choose what you wear. Don’t get defensive. Nobody wants anything but your safety. When bad things happened to YOU, no one else suffers more than YOU, ALONE! Think about it. Don’t get emotional.  No one can forbid you to wear mini skirts, but are you sure it is safe for YOU to wear it EVERYWHERE?!

Cover yourself well, take care of yourself better. FOR YOUR OWN SAFETY!!
Much Love! !

 

  1. #1 by Q.S.I on January 16, 2012 - 8:47 am

    Assalamu Alaikum dear sister,

    very nice post mashÁllah. May Allah reward for using your writing talent for the sake of Allah. Ameen.

    Sharara,
    Bangladesh.

    • #2 by Q.S.I on January 16, 2012 - 8:49 am

      reward you*

  2. #3 by mezba on December 9, 2011 - 12:55 am

    Salaam Alaikum.

    I found it a bit sad when we visited New Delhi that the worst area of the city was the “Muslim” area near Jama Masjid, after dark. Women who were dressed modestly were also not spared the taunts and stares of eve teasers. I find that going after mini skirts in Indonesia is a distraction. They should go after the rapists with the death penalty so it acts as a deterrent to other would-be rapists. Often in conservative societies the women do not complain about being raped which is why the rapists go scot-free.

  3. #4 by Bluepearl on September 27, 2011 - 2:28 pm

    Salaam alaikum my doll, its been a while since I been on your blog and I am glad to come back and notice that you still posting such relevant and well thought out topics.

    Hope you well, much love

  4. #5 by ZRH on September 27, 2011 - 3:18 am

    salam I have given you an award on my blog:

    http://the-seekers-corner.blogspot.com/p/blog-awards.html

  5. #6 by Ansar Kasim on September 25, 2011 - 8:08 pm

    Assalamu alaikum ukhthi….
    Ah… Nice post… Great words ..evry so called femisnist should read this post….

    Come on … Girls… know your limit..Turn back to Creator and obey him fully…

  6. #7 by Abu Abdullah on September 24, 2011 - 10:00 pm

    Assalamualaikum, sister.

    This is a very objective post, thoughtful and it touches the point without labeling any groups.
    As I always think, females are better in explaining the wisdom of hijab. They know it, they practice it, and they feel the effectiveness. The females in my family needs to read this fo sure.

    Syukran, sister.

  7. #8 by JCK on September 24, 2011 - 9:45 pm

    Hi, Rialive.

    As a brought up Christian and now not so sure of my belief, I find it interesting that some people is so devoted to their religion. I follow many blogs from many kinds of religious freaks I realize that they do things because people told them to. That’s why I really like the way you exlain that you follow one thing but by following you expand, you keep your dinamic as a human being. It’s good, I like that.

    It is sad to hear what is happening in your place, I hope it will never happen to you. But even here in America, rape statistic is very high (also divorce rate LOL) I don’t connect to your perspective on mini skirts ban will be a part of solution, but keep us posted.

    Interesting post, as usual. I really enjoyed reading it. hugs! xoxo

  8. #9 by Dorya on September 24, 2011 - 8:36 pm

    Thank’s for explaining to me about your personal view on covering. Nice, and I totally respect that. I still read your posts just not very easy to comment by my cell. Good post, Rialive!

    If I may give a suggestion next time just put ‘rialive’ on the pic. :p
    Take care.

  9. #10 by Amatullah Islam on September 24, 2011 - 7:27 pm

    I love your style of writing. Everything is so light and easy to be accepted, no judgement at all 🙂
    Simply WOW 🙂

    May Allah reward you for writing this and may many be inspired by your thoughts. Love ya!

  10. #11 by Ayesha Haroon on September 24, 2011 - 6:11 pm

    How can I not love your each and every posts?!! masha’Allaah great writing and keep coming.. 🙂
    may Allah reward you, habibty! Mwah! ♥ ♥ ♥

  11. #12 by Aliya on September 24, 2011 - 4:40 pm

    Salaam, sister..

    This is a wake up call, mashaa’Allaah!!

  12. #13 by Hayati on September 24, 2011 - 4:03 pm

    Again, nice writing! I agree to the last bit!!

  13. #14 by Noni M on September 24, 2011 - 1:12 pm

    Another GREAT POST, Ree!!

  14. #15 by Zaynab al-Farisi on September 24, 2011 - 11:51 am

    Assalamu’alaykum, Rialive..

    Very nice post. I love every single words! May Allah reward you el-Jannah.
    I still would love to visit Indonesia, no matter what your friend said 😀
    Ameen.

    Zaynab,
    Egypt

Leave a Reply

