Malaysian Experience

The Amazing Twin Tower

Alhamdulillah, few weeks ago, I had the chance to visit several countries in South East Asia. I had so much fun, and mostly spent quality time with myself.  I think I got much more wiser after the vacation 😀

So, this post is for the lovely sweet sister Silla. I spent few days in Malaysia, her country. 

Mostly, Malaysia is a great experience. I love my country, and I understand the ‘ego war’ happened between mine and hers, but not every Malaysians underestimate Indonesians. It’s not exactly like what happened in internet where people from both countries cursed each other. Most Malaysians that I met in their country are fine and honestly… very loveable.

I will not touch the ‘culture claiming’ fight between our country because I think it’s a little stupid. So what if some of the Indonesian dances, traditional food and songs were claimed to be Malaysians? I don’t see many Indonesians respect their own culture so why bother? 😀 Well, I was firstly a little annoyed when I saw that some food were told as originally from Malaysia 😳 but then I thought, our countries have the same roots, so it is very possible for us to have many similar cultures, right? 😀

So, what I like most about Malaysia is their traffic and foods. Well, not as clean as Singapore and well organized as Japan, but compare to Indonesia, it is much much better. You know, in my place, policeman is everywhere, but the streets are still so messed up. But in Malaysia, I didn’t see any policeman in the streets but pedestrians are so safe because CCTVs are everywhere. GREAT! I like how the taxi driver really helped a lot. The food is also relatively acceptable for my West Sumatran tongue, we love spices and complicated foods. Besides, we can easily find Padang Restaurant. Ah yes, I got a business opportunity with a restaurant, supplying a specific fish you can only find in my place, biiznillahi taala.. So, please make dua, everyone. 😀

And the people! MashaAllah, the people! When we asked them directions on how to get to anywhere, they will give me the easiest explanations, and even some of them really took me there. The security officers on every buildings, I think they can read minds 😀 when they saw me confused, they would come at me and ask how they could help me.. Ehm, I don’t find it here in my place. I took some pictures of me with a security officer, he was very kind. I didn’t know how to take pictures of Petronas and he showed me the spot, alhamdulillah..

As I said in previous post, I didn’t really go shopping, but I did buy 2 hijabs and 3 handbags, here they are,

They are cute, right?! Alhamdulillah!!

Too bad I couldn’t meet my friends there, next time, inshaAllah 🙂 Love you, sister Silla!!

  1. #1 by Meme on September 11, 2011 - 5:27 pm

    wah, k ria benar2 sangat mencintai tas ndak k 😀

  2. #2 by Heidi Shafiq on June 9, 2011 - 12:40 pm

    for us, your country is a dream place to have some holidays.. 🙂

    -Malaysian-

  3. #3 by Tatiana Lovina on June 8, 2011 - 12:30 pm

    The bags are super cute!!

  4. #4 by Amatullah Islam on June 8, 2011 - 11:18 am

    Nice! The hijabs are looking glamorous! Masha’Allah…

  5. #5 by Michael Anggodo on June 8, 2011 - 1:02 am

    3 handbags and 2 hijabs… and you said you didn’t really shop 😀

  6. #6 by Farsilla Khan on June 7, 2011 - 8:31 pm

    hahaha talk about the war between our country i do agree its really really stupid!!! 😀 im glad dat u love malaysia i hope 1 day i will the opportunity to visit indonesia in the future inshaallah. n also ppl do mistaken me as indonesian. do i?? hahaha no idea. u judge sweety *HUGS* inshaallah 1 day we will meet

    Silla

  7. #7 by Moniq on June 7, 2011 - 7:23 pm

    nice handbags!

  8. #8 by Yanna E on June 7, 2011 - 6:13 pm

    U si dedek, ke malay gak ngajak2… somboooong!

Leave a comment